It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alerting Services: Citation, Table of Contents, Saved Search: Alerting Services
Staying Current with Alerts
Many databases and journals use e-mail alerts to inform users of new content. With most all alerting services, it is necessary to set up a personal account. There are a number of different types of alerts you can create in order to stay informed:
Citation Alerts- Receive notifications when a specific journal article is cited.
Saved Search Alerts- Construct a search within a resource, save the search strategy, and receive email notifications when new items are added to that resource that match your saved search. Search alerts do not save records; only the search statement.
When viewing an article, click "Get Citation Alerts."
TOC Alerts: Keep track of 30 journals with JournalTOCs
JournalTOCs provides access to the Tables Of Contents (TOCs) of the current issues of over 30,000 journals that produce TOC RSS feeds. An individual who registers for the free option of this service can
follow and receive email alerts for 15 journals.
searches will retrieve up to 25 articles
Users can search for journals by title or ISSN, or keywords in journal article titles. Journals TOCs can be browsed by publisher or subject.
To follow a journal, from the search and browse results, click on the box next to the journal title. Click Search to return to the main page and see a list of the journals you are following
When viewing alerts off-campus, consider using the Penn EZproxy browser bookmarklet for easy access to Penn subscriptions:
Some EBSCO databases allow for the creation of journal alerts. These include: EBSCO Megafile, Business Source Complete, CINAHL. Click the Publications link at the top of the EBSCO screen. From a journal's Publication Details Screen, click the Share link on right, and then click the E-mail Alert link.
Some ProQuest databases, including PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts, ERIC, EconLIT, ABI/Inform, allow for journal alerts. When all ProQuest databases are selected, click the "Publications" link in the top gray bar. Search, click on journal titles, and, if available, click "Set up alert" or "Create RSS feed" from publication page.
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.
TOC Alerts: Publishers and Organizations
For most all sites, it is necessary to first set up an individual account.
Project Muse provides full text access to articles from over 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, social sciences and sciences. Coverage begins in 1995 or more recently and in most cases continues to the present. Issues are available both as images and as text; searching is possible both within each title and across the whole database.
Search: on Search results page, click "Create Alert" or after completing a search, click on the "Search History" link in the upper right of screen, then click "Create Alert". You may have a total of 260 alerts and saved searches.
STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts system provides e-mail delivery of current evidence-based medicine (EBM) research by specialty from over 130 clinical journals. With McMaster University, the system delivers EBM alerts that are qualified, then rated for clinical relevance and newsworthiness by a panel of practicing physicians. In StatRef, click on MyStatRef to create an account (further instructions)
After completing a search, click on "set email Alerts". Registration required.
Saving Searches and Alerts. To upload to a bibliographic software management program, save AutoAlert as: Email Options = Inline; Output Type = ASCII; Report Type = Email includes records only; Fields = Complete Reference; Citation Format = Reprint/Medlars. Also do not check off the Include Strategy checkbox
Search Alerts: Create a My Research Account in ProQuest
Do a search. Click on the Create alert button.
Complete pop-up form (email is already supplied), Save alert
You may modify or delete this type of alert through your My Research account. Without having a My Research Account
Do a search. Click on the Create alert button (yellow envelope)
Complete pop-up form with email and frequency.
Access email and confirm alert.
You may delete this type of alert through a subsequent alert email.
Search- run a search, click 'Get Alerts' link on upper right of the search results page. Topic -go to any Topic page, click 'Get Alerts' link on upper right of the page. TOC - any content page that offers a 'Get Alerts' link on upper right of the page.