Guides: Genetic Counseling Resources: Home

Liaison Librarian

Melanie Cedrone

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Holman Biotech Commons
3610 Hamilton Walk

215-898-1862

NVivo information

NVivo Libguide
This guide will help you get started using NVivo. There are links to get help, to view previously recorded workshops and to sign up for upcoming workshops.

Systematic Review Overview

Systematic Review Libguide

Medical Genetics Journals

Associations & Organizations

Literature Databases

PubMed
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
EMBASE
Covers biomedical literature. Includes coverage of over 1,800 biomedical titles not offered by Medline/PubMed.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM®) is a continuously updated catalog of human genes and genetic disorders and traits, with particular focus on the molecular relationship between genetic variation and phenotypic expression.
APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.

TAGC Abstracts
Abstracts from the The Allied Genetics Conference.
more...less...
Collection of genetic counseling thesis abstracts.

Using PubMed to search for Medical Genetics topics

The Medical Genetics filters in PubMed can be used to limit your retrieval to citations related to various topics in medical genetics. See Medical genetics search filters for the filter search strategies.

To use a Medical Genetics filter, add the filter name to your search with the search field tag [Filter], e.g., Genetic Testing[Filter]. The available filters are:

Diagnosis
Differential Diagnosis
Clinical Description
Management
Genetic Counseling
Molecular Genetics
Genetic Testing
Medical Genetics

EXAMPLE

Search PubMed for sickle cell anemia using the Genetic Counseling filter:

sickle cell anemia AND genetic counseling[Filter]

Clinical Resources

AccessMedicine
Includes access to Harrison's Online, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, other core medical texts, Lange clinical review library, USMLE review, drug information, patient education, and many more resources.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)
Bates: A Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Clinical Rotation Guide

DynaMed
Clinical reference tool created for use primarily at the point-of-care, with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics.
Clinical reference tool created for use primarily at the point-of-care, with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics.

ClinicalKey
A clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions. Searches clinically related material produced by Elseiver. Includes information from books, journals, clinical trials, drug monographs, guidelines, patient education, and much more.

Ucentral / Unbound Medicine
Unbound Medicine is a portal to medical information including Johns Hopkins ABX Guide.
UpToDate
Only accessible from UPHS & Perelman SOM locations

Books@Ovid
This is a collection of clinical textbooks and manuals for medicine and nursing. They can be searched individually or collectively.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Clinical practice guideline repository.

JAMAevidence
Helps identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.