Guides: The Farmworker Movement: Home

Guides to sources and the literature

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latino Studies
Current scholarly and in depth bibliographies on topics in Latino Studies.
Oxford Reference Encyclopedias

Newspapers

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Includes entire back runs of the Los Angeles Times, the San Francisco Examiner and Spokane newspapers up to 2000. Many other important and local national newspapers.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
Included varied runs of numerous smaller newspapers from across California.
Washington Farmworkers
Introduction: http://depts.washington.edu/civilr/farmwk_intro.htm
Interviews: https://depts.washington.edu/civilr/interviews.htm
News Coverage: https://depts.washington.edu/civilr/farmwk_news.htm
Photos: http://depts.washington.edu/labpics/zenPhoto/farmwork/
Ethnic NewsWatch
Searchable full-text articles from 400+ minority-oriented publications from approximately 1980 forward. Limit by ethnicity to see just Asian or Latinx publications.
Alt-Press Watch
Includes mainly 21st century alternative publications.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Newspapers.com
American Indian Newspapers, 1828-2016
Periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
Newspaperarchive.com
Includes long runs of the Oakland Tribune, Bakersfield Californian, and other papers.

Magazines

Independent Voices
Mostly mid to late-20th century underground magazines, including Latinx magazines and student newspapers.
Catholic Worker
Dorothy Day’s writings in the Catholic Worker, including writings on the west coast farmworker movement. You’ll see an option to browse.

Government Documents and legal sources

ProQuest Congressional
Massive collection of government documents, including statements in Congress, Congressional Hearings, research reports, public laws, and more.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Schematic legislative histories that provide fulltext for US congressional documents through our ProQuest collections.
• ProQuest Regulatory Insight extends legislative histories into US federal regulatory histories.
Cesar Chavez FBI file
Senate Committee on Education and Labor hearings 1939
Also: https://congressional-proquest-com.proxy.library.upenn.edu/congressional/result/congressional/congdocumentview?accountid=14707&groupid=95549&parmId=1759EA9A76A
History Vault
Mainly executive branch documents such as Papers of the President's Committee on Migratory Labor
American Labor Relations Board Decisions, 1975-
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
Includes in one place U.S. law, administrative precedents, legal cases and manuals related to immigration policy.

Civil Rights & Organizational Papers

History vault
Includes records of the:
-AFL-CIO
-Socialist Party of America
-NAACP, SNCC, CORE, and other African American-oriented organizations.
ACLU Papers
National Farm Worker Ministry : Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985.
correspondence, reports, speeches, minutes; included are materials relating to the farm workers, poverty programs, Public Law 78, Braceros, labor camps, the United Farm Workers Union and the Delano Grape Strike.

Other: oral histories, video, special collections

-Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
https://libraries.ucsd.edu/farmworkermovement/archives/

-Border Patrol Oral Histories

https://oralhistory.unt.edu/subjects/border-patrol
https://www.borderpatrolmuseum.com/oral-history-interviews/

-Bracero Archive
http://braceroarchive.org

-Bracero Oral History Project (contains transcripts of many interviews that are only available as sound files in the Bracero Archive)

https://scholarworks.utep.edu/bracero/

-El Teatro Campesino Video Archive

http://cemaweb.library.ucsb.edu/theater.html

-Online Archive of California: https://oac.cdlib.org
This allows you to do global searches of research libraries in California. You can narrow your search to digital materials. They have material ranging from images from the Royal Chicano Air Force Archives to videos from Teatro Campesino

-Primary sources from Miriam Pawel’s website accompanying her book The Union of Their Dreams

http://unionoftheirdreams.com/Primary_Sources.php

Welga Digital Archive, Bulosan Center for Filipino Studies, UC Davis

https://welgadigitalarchive.omeka.net/

-Memoirs, oral histories, poetry, and other published book-length primary sources in Franklin

Carlos Bulosan, America is in the Heart

Carey McWilliams, Factories in the Field

LeRoy Chatfield, To Serve the People

Craig Sharlin, Lilia Villanueva, and Elaine H. Kim, Philip Vera Cruz

Manuel Buaken, I Have Lived with the American People

Dorothy Ray Healey, California Red

Ernesto Galarza, Barrio Boy

Ernesto Galarza, Merchants of Labor

Ernesto Galarza, Farm Workers and Agri-business in California

Ernesto Galarza, Kodachromes in Rhyme

Ernesto Galarza, Man of Fire

Ernesto Galarza, Spiders in the House and Workers in the Field

Ernesto Galarza, Labor in Latin America

Ernesto Galarza, Strangers in our Fields

(Ernesto Galarza was a prolific author, and students can explore his other writings, as well)

Robert J. Jensen and John C. Hammerback, eds., The Words of Cesar Chavez

Rolas de Aztlán: Songs of the Chicano Movement [sound recording]

Eyewitness: A Filmmaker's Memoir of the Chicano Movement [film]

-The US National Archives contains material on literally everything -- the problem is that the catalog is not well organized. But you can search for anything and find digitized documents here.

https://catalog.archives.gov/advancedsearch

-The Library of Congress also has a huge variety of digitized archival material, including Voices of the Dustbowl (migrant worker materials, 1940-1941)
https://www.loc.gov/collections/todd-and-sonkin-migrant-workers-from-1940-to-1941/about-this-collection/

Nick Okrent

Email Me

Contact:

Van Pelt Library, room 204

215-573-2217

Subjects: Africana Studies, Asian-American Studies, History, Philosophy, U.S. History