Guides: Evidence-Based Dentistry Class: How to find clinical practice guidelines in dentistry

Advice

Check the website of the dental specialty your question falls under as they may have developed a guideline to address your question.

For example: the Statement on flossing efficacy by the European Federation of Periodontology addresses the controversy over interdental devices. While this is not a guideline, it is guidance from an association of experts in the field, states the problem and provides guidance and evidence to support the response.

Databases to search for evidence and/or guidelines

TRIP database
- has a PICO search built-in allowing you specify population, intervention, comparator/control and outcome (Note: you may not want to add in every element as this may limit your search)
Cochrane Library
Provides a PICO search in beta: "Cochrane exists so that healthcare decisions get better; and our Strategy for Change aims to put Cochrane evidence at the heart of health decision-making all over the world/"
PubMed's Clinical Queries
"This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics. To use this tool, enter your search terms in the search bar and select filters before searching. " -PubMed
Epistemonikos
"Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence. It is the largest source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence." -from site

Clinical Practice Guidelines

American Dental Association
"Clinical practice guidelines are the strongest resources to aid dental professionals in clinical decision making and help incorporate evidence gained through scientific investigation into patient care. Guidelines include recommendation statements intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options." -ADA
Cochrane Oral Health Group
Provides systematic reviews not guidelines: "Cochrane Oral Health publishes summaries of the best quality research available to help people make informed decisions about oral healthcare choices. These summaries are commonly known as systematic reviews. Our research is internationally recognised as high-quality, trusted information."
CDC Oral Health
Featured content: CDC Announces Medical-Dental Integration Partnership
Summary of CDC COVID-19 Guidance for Dental Services
Health and Economic Benefits of Preventing Oral Diseases
ECRI Guidelines Trust
"ECRI is the only organization worldwide to conduct independent medical device evaluations, with labs located in North America and Asia Pacific. ECRI is designated an Evidence-based Practice Center by the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality and a federally certified Patient Safety Organization by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.."- ECRI
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
Evidence-based recommendations developed by independent committees, including professionals and lay members, and consulted on by stakeholders.
NHS Evidence (UK)
"Evidence search helps you make better, faster evidence-based decisions. It includes high quality resources from over 800 organisations - like searching your trusted work favourites in one go."
Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network
The membership of SIGN includes all the medical specialties, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, professions allied to medicine, patients, health service managers, social services, and researchers.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Archives site of guidelines.

Evidence-Based Dentistry Class: How to find clinical practice guidelines in dentistry

Advice

Databases to search for evidence and/or guidelines

Clinical Practice Guidelines

Clinical Practice Guidelines- rolling 100 from PubMed