Guides: SPAN 3730: Stories About Photos And Photos That Tell Stories: Home

Welcome!

Hello! This guide is intended to serve as your starting page for finding and accessing the many kinds of research materials available to you as a Penn student. The navigation tabs on the left will help you find links and tips for different kinds of primary and secondary research sources. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to reach out to your librarian!

Find Books at Penn Libraries (and Beyond)

Penn Libraries Catalog
Franklin is the Penn Libraries catalog where you can search for books, journal articles, and more from many of the library branches. Use the "catalog" tab to focus your search on books. Log into your account to view access options.

WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest bibliographic database and a meta-search engine of catalogs from thousands of online member libraries of OCLC, the Online Computer Library Center, a non-profit cooperative library data that underpins library searches worldwide.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.

Borrowing beyond Penn Libraries
Need a book that's not available or that Penn doesn't own or a scan of an article or book chapter? Check out this guide to borrowing and scanning services.

Databases for Finding Journal Articles

These are only some examples of the many databases available through the Penn Libraries! These are some of the "best bets" for finding sources for this class.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Subjects covered include anthropology, archaeology, anthropology, banking and finance, business, commerce, drama, drug trade, economic development, environmental issues, ethnography, folklore, geography, history, indigenous affairs, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, social movements, and women's rights. HAPI cites articles published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
JSTOR
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.

Penn's subscription currently includes all the available collections:
- the Arts & Sciences Collection I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII and the Complement
- the Business II & III Collection
- the Biological Sciences Collection
- the Health & General Science Collection
- the Language and Literature Collection
- the Music Collection
- the 19th Century British Pamphlets
Access to journals from JSTOR is restricted to current Penn faculty, staff and students.

Printing from the JSTOR database requires downloading a helper application called JPrint.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Bibliography contains detailed bibliographic information on scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including literature from any country and in any language, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), folklore, linguistics, college-level teaching of language, literature, and rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.

If you're looking for more focused databases with Latin American Studies materials, check out this list in Franklin!