Guides: EALC 1106: East Asian Gardens: Databases and Journal Articles

Databases for finding journal articles

Databases come in all shapes and sizes. The purpose of the databases listed below is to help you find peer-reviewed journal articles, but there are many types of databases that cover all topics of interest.

Below are general databases that will yield many results from any given search. Use the "filters" on the side to find things more useful for your topic. For example, you can take a look at the "subject" areas for the results and choose one or two subjects that make sense to you.

JSTOR
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.

Penn's subscription currently includes all the available collections:
- the Arts & Sciences Collection I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII and the Complement
- the Business II & III Collection
- the Biological Sciences Collection
- the Health & General Science Collection
- the Language and Literature Collection
- the Music Collection
- the 19th Century British Pamphlets
Access to journals from JSTOR is restricted to current Penn faculty, staff and students.

Printing from the JSTOR database requires downloading a helper application called JPrint.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index: A&HCI
On the Web of Science platform. Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching.
Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.

Some databases are subject specific databases. For instance, the Bibliography of Asian studies only searches for results in journals that are associated with Asian studies in some way. So if you want to search a subject specific database, you don't need to include search terms such as "Asia."

Bibliography of Asian Studies
All subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, South Asia, and Indian Ocean countries.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Covers architecture, architectural design, archeology, furniture and decoration, historic preservation, the history of architecture, interior design, landscape architecture, urban planning.
Art & Architecture Source
A leading database for the study of art and architecture...provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. [Coverage of periodicals mostly begins with 1980s or later, but some titles are indexed for longer periods as far back as the 1930s.] In addition, Art & Architecture Source offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. The database also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. Designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general researchers, [t]his database covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art, art history, interior and landscape design, and much more. {adapted from publisher's description}