Use Articles+ by navigating to the "Articles+" tab in Franklin. Toggle the appropriate selection for your search and input keywords to start.
The facets or filters on the left-hand side of the screen can be used to refine your search. You can limit results to scholarly-peer-reviewed, year published, subject terms, etc.
Articles+ search will yield selective results, so it is worth searching for articles in additional databases, like JSTOR or Bibliography of Asian Studies. See this guide for more information: Guide: How to Search Better.
Databases come in all shapes and sizes. The purpose of the databases listed below is to help you find peer-reviewed journal articles, but there are many types of databases that cover all topics of interest.
Below are general databases that will yield many results from any given search. Use the "filters" on the side to find things more useful for your topic. For example, you can take a look at the "subject" areas for the results and choose one or two subjects that make sense to you.
Penn's subscription currently includes all the available collections:
Access to journals from JSTOR is restricted to current Penn faculty, staff and students.
Printing from the JSTOR database requires downloading a helper application called JPrint.
Some databases are subject specific databases. For instance, the Bibliography of Asian studies only searches for results in journals that are associated with Asian studies in some way. So if you want to search a subject specific database, you don't need to include search terms such as "Asia."
The following links provide lists of the most important Journals related to east Asia. In order to find out if our library has access to a journal title, use Franklin by selecting "Journal Title Keyword" from the drop down menu.
