ENGL 2135: "Trash: The Novel"

"This site contains materials from two major dime novel collections in Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University, the Albert Johannsen and Edward T. LeBlanc Collections."

Large collection of digitized dime novels freely available through HathiTrust.

"This collection brings together pre-Pulp era tales initially depicting scenes of early America, the Frontier, and the West. Ranging roughly from 1860 to 1930 these often serial publications record the attitudes of 19th and early 20th Century society: including racist, sexist, and ethnic stereotypes. Also included in the collection are the precursors to "Dime Novels", known as "Story Papers", Mass Market Literature - containing non-fiction texts, some of which are manifested as textual series - in a variety of subjects - including "self-help" and "how-to" titles, and medical cures, and International Dime Novels - both translations of English language original texts, as well as native creations. Digitization status: ongoing."

"Dime novels for women, 1870-1920."

"The works are entered according to series, and arranged under the series in their order of issue."

Cover art and full text from multiple Nick Carter dime novels.

"The Special Collections Department at the University of South Florida is fortunate to have a significant Dime Novel Collection comprising some 310 boxes and well over 8,000 items. The digital collection consists of various series, such as the Frank Reade Library, and will be added to as new items are digitized."

"bio-bibliographies and commentary about nineteenth-century authors of series books for girls and younger children as well as samples of some of their writing. It includes some of the century's most popular authors and a number of lesser-known figures whose works -- now almost forgotten -- show the evolution of the genre."