Guides: Southeast Asian Circle (SEAC): Hospitality Industry

Search the Business FAQ

Diving Deeper

In addition to the general Market & Industry Research page, explore these resources specific to the Hospitality industry.

Hospitality

All resources in this list offer global coverage.

Hospitality Net
A comprehensive site including industry news, free market reports, information on professional associations, and more.
Travel+Leisure (digital)
The website for the publication, Travel+Leisure, this resource contains articles, directories and descriptions for hotels, destinations and restaurants, and lists for the World's Best Awards, which rate the best hotels, restaurants, cities, and travel agents.
Travel & Tourism Development Index 2024 by the World Economic Forum
The World Economic Forum's mission is to provide "a global, impartial and not-for-profit platform for meaningful connection between stakeholders to establish trust, and build initiatives for cooperation and progress." This edition of the index "measures the set of factors and policies that enable the sustainable and resilient development" of the Travel & Tourism industry.

Hospitality: A New Dawn in Sustainability & Service by Chris Sheppardson "This book is an introduction to one of the fast-developing core pillars in business, sustainability, as well as how it is closely tied into the concept of service." -publisher description
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2021
Food and Beverage Management in the Luxury Hotel Industry by Sylvain Boussard "This book is an introduction to the management of food and beverage operations within a luxury hotel environment. It provides detailed coverage of operational areas within the food and beverage department, based on multiple real industry examples, allowing the reader to grasp the intricacies of the day-to-day running of outlets." -publisher description
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2021

Food & Beverage

Global Focus

Mintel
In the top menu under Analytics, click Products to access Mintel's Global New Products Database (GNPD), which covers the consumer packaged goods marketplace - including new products in the food and drink market in 86 countries. Also includes relaunched, reformulated, and repackaged products and new varieties or extended ranges of existing products.

US Focus

Food Marketing Institute (FMI)
The Food Marketing Institute (FMI) conducts programs in research, education, industry relations and public affairs for food retailers and wholesalers. The site includes information on food safety, nutrition, and industry legislation. There is also information regarding conducting business and includes human resources, technology and supply.
USDA Economic Research Service
U.S. Department of Agriculture research on the economic impact of foodservice outlets. Their reports include data on market sizes and employment figures.
Restaurant, food & beverage market research handbook 2020-2021 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington
Published by Richard K. Miller & Associates, this handbook provides consumer spending data, market forecasts, trends assessments for all segments, and more. Comprehensive demographic data for all dayparts at full-service and quick-service restaurants, as well as an analysis of restaurant spending in each state and dining statistics for metropolitan areas are provided.

Cookbooks

The Penn Libraries has hundreds of cookbooks from across time and around the world. Search the library catalog for the call number ranges below by using the Call Number field.

Southeast Asian - TX724.5.S68
Burmese - TX724.5.B93
Cambodian - TX724.5.C16
Filipino - TX274.5.P5
Indonesian - TX274.5.I5
Laotian - TX724.5.L28
Malaysian - TX724.5.M4
Singaporean - TX724.5.S55
Thai - TX724.5.T5
Vietnamese - TX724.5.V5

Lodging

Global Focus

United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)
The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) is the United Nations agency responsible for the promotion of responsible, sustainable and universally accessible tourism.

Hotel Revenue Management by Dave Roberts "This book guides the reader from the building blocks of revenue management, to pricing science and merchandising, and to broader issues of setting objectives in support of a revenue strategy." -publisher description
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2022

US Focus

National Travel and Tourism Office (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Provides the latest U.S. tourism statistics (inbound and outbound), research programs, industry news, etc.
Travel and tourism market research 2022 by Richard K. Miler and Kelli Washington
Compiles traveler spending and tourist visitor statistics. Chapter 15 focuses on the hotel industry and provides segmentation data. Other chapters include market research on leisure and business travelers, preferred methods of traveling and hotel spending behaviors.
Trends in the hotel industry by Pannell, Kerr, Forster
Most recent edition at Lippincott Reference Desk. Annual PKF Hospitality Research reports provide detailed analysis of hotel revenues, expenses, operating data, and profits by property type, geographic location, rate, and size categories. Includes full-service; limited-service; resort; suite; and convention hotels.

Librarian

Matthew Trowbridge

Email Me

Contact:

Lippincott Library
3420 Walnut St., Room 243.3
Philadelphia, PA 19104

215-898-6729

Subjects: Entrepreneurship

Southeast Asian Circle (SEAC)

Search the Business FAQ

Diving Deeper

Hospitality

Food & Beverage

Global Focus

US Focus

Cookbooks

Lodging

Global Focus

US Focus

Librarian

Chat