Global Health Resources: Global Health Research Resources

This database comprises international coverage of veterinary medicine, agriculture, forestry and related bio-science fields, including: human health; human nutrition; animal health; and resource management and conservation.

Global Health consists of more than 1.2 million records. Research content covering public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology and mycology.

The premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Resources in all languages are represented.

The Trip database is a medical search engine for evidence-based clinical information. There is an option to translate the TRIP interface into several languages.

Standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels from World Health Organization. Free online version presents only rabies and tuberculosis data annually for 1994 to present.

A catalog of the world's health and demographic data.

The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information.

Full-text for UN Development Programme global, regional, and national reports, describing development issues, including human rights, poverty, education, economic reform, HIV/AIDS, globalization, capacity building, and partnerships worldwide.

Data include conflict data, economic data, electoral systems and political behaviour, environmental data, health data, social phenomena, public opnion data, and information about international organizations.

USAID-funded program to collect and analyze demographic and health data for regional and national family planning and public health programs. Includes STATcompiler and HIV/AIDS Survey Indicators Database. Administered by Macro International, Inc.

Time series statistical information for countries collected from UN and related international governmental organizations. Topics covered include population composition and change; human settlements, housing, geographic distribution of population; households and families, marital status, fertility; health, health services; impairment, disabilities; nutrition; education and learning and more.

Guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization.

Datasets compiled for World Bank research in agriculture, domestic and household finance, education, environment, globalization, governance, health, population and demography, industry, infrastructure, international economics, labor and employment, macroeconomics and growth, poverty, private sector development, public sector management, rural development, social development, transition economies, and urban development. Includes datasets supporting published research.

Topical sectors covered include: agriculture, education, employment, forestry, fisheries, health, human settlements, humanitarian aid and relief, industry, natural resources, political affairs, population, science and technology, social conditions and equity, transport and communications, general development issues (policy and planning), and international trade, development economics, and development finance.

Full-text versions of the most recent volumes, providing overviews of "historical setting, and thesocial, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world", focusing on lesser known areas of the world in which U.S. forces might be deployed.

USAID technical and program documents on international development projects funded by USAID. Topics covered include democracy and governance, conflict resolution, economic growth and agricultural development, global development, health, population and nutrition, human capacity development, humanitarian assistance, and world environment.

The Global Library of Women's Medicine is a unique web library incorporating a vast range of detailed clinical information across the whole field of women's medicine. In addition, there are innovative features freely available to registered users, that are aimed at medical professionals, including surgical videos specialist colour atlases of visual medicine, comprehensive guidance to laboratory tests and the significance of their results,- and even an option to provide doctors with selected patient information handouts.

GoogleMap application showing locations of disease reports worldwide, gathered from many health news reporters.

The International Encyclopedia of Public Health provides a review of global public health and includes aspects of the public health field.

Users of the service are able to analyse repositories by location, type, the material they hold and other measures.

World Health Organization Library Database is comprised of bibliographic information.

Full-text PDF-format collection of more than 1,200 World Bank books, including all new titles and selected titles beginning in 1984. Topics covered include:agriculture, education, environment, finance, globalization, governance, health and population, industry, infrastructure, international economics, labor and employment, macroeconomics and growth, poverty, private sector development, public sector management, rural development, social development, transition economies, urban development.