Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
The Handbook of Chilrden, Media and Development by
Publication Date: 2009-01-22
The Handbook of Children, Media and Development brings together an interdisciplinary group of experts in the fields of developmental psychology, developmental science, communication, and medicine to provide an authoritative, comprehensive look at the empirical research on media and media policies within the field. 25 newly-commissioned essays bring new research to the forefront, especially on digital media, developmental research, and public policy debates.
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media by
From Internet censorship to sex and violence on television and in video games to debates over rock lyrics, the media and their affect on children and adolescents is one of the most widely debated issues in our society. This text presents research and ready-to-use facts on the media's interaction with children and adolescents.
Sage Handbook of Child Development, Multiculturalism, and Media by
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Explores, in an integrative and comprehensive fashion, the principles of child development and concepts of multiculturalism within a framework of the institutions of socialization that have the potential of contributing toward a child's understanding and development of a multicultural world view.
Handbook of Children and the Media by
Publication Date: 2012-07-25
Cyber-bullying, sexting, and the effects that violent video games have on children are widely discussed and debated. With a renowned international group of researchers and scholars, the Second Edition of the Handbook of Children and the Media covers these topics, is updated with cutting-edge research, and includes comprehensive analysis of the field for students and scholars.
The Routledge International Handbook of Children, Adolescents and Media by
Publication Date: 2013-07-18
Covers a broad range of complementary areas of study, including children as media consumers, children as active participants in media making, and representations of children in the media. The handbook presents a collection that spans a variety of disciplines including developmental psychology, media studies, public health, education, feminist studies and the sociology of childhood.
The International Handbook of Children, Media and Culture by
Publication Date: 2008-03-06
Deliberately selected to represent as many parts of the globe as possible, and with a commitment to recognizing both the similarities and differences in children and young people's lives - from China to Denmark, from Canada to India, from Japan to Iceland, from - the authors offer a rich contextualization of children's engagement with their particular media and communication environment, while also pursuing cross-cutting themes in terms of comparative and global trends.
Adolescents, Media, and the Law by
Publication Date: 2007-06-18
There is much controversy about the dangers of a free media when it comes to children and adolescents. Many believe that this constitutional right should be amended, altered, or revoked entirely to prevent the young from being negatively influenced. Graphic violence, sexual content, and the depiction of cigarette smoking have all come under fire as being unacceptable in media that is geared toward adolescents, from television and movies to magazines and advertising. Yet not much has been written about the developmental science behind these ideas, and what effects a free media really has on adolescents. This book presents a synthesis of all current knowledge about the developmental effects of a free media on adolescents in four key areas: sexuality, violence, smoking, and body image.
Bring the World to the Child by
Publication Date: 2020-01-17
Traces the roots of the digital era's "connected learning" and "global classrooms" to the first half of the twentieth century, when educators adopted a range of media and materials--including lantern slides, bulletin boards, radios, and film projectors--as what she terms "technologies of global citizenship." Good describes how progressive reformers in the early twentieth century made a case for deploying diverse media technologies in the classroom to promote cosmopolitanism and civic-minded learning.
The Changing Portrayal of Adolescents in the Media Since 1950 by
Publication Date: 2008-07-22
Leading scholars analyze the emergence of youth culture in music and powerful trends in gender and ethnic-racial representation, sexuality, substance use, violence, and suicide portrayed in the media. This book illuminates the evolution of teen portrayal, the potential consequences of these changes, and the ways policy-makers and parents can respond.
Children's Games in the New Media Age by
Publication Date: 2014-03-28
Conceived to explore the relationship between children's vernacular play cultures and their media-based play, this collection challenges two popular misconceptions: that children's play is dying out and that it is threatened by contemporary media such as television and computer games. The result is a wide-ranging and lively investigation of gender, power and social change in contemporary children's play cultures.
Children, Adolescents, and Media by
Call Number: https://franklin.library.upenn.edu/catalog/FRANKLIN_9977146195003681
Publication Date: 2017-01-09
Offering new directions for research, the contributors consider the implications of the changing media landscape for parents, educators, advocates, and producers.
Children and Media by
Publication Date: 2015-02-24
Taking a global and interdisciplinary approach, Children and Media explores the role of modern media, including the internet, television, mobile media and video games, in the development of children, adolescents, and childhood.
Children and Screen Media in Changing Arab Contexts by
Publication Date: 2019-03-28
Using a phenomenological and multi-sited ethnographic approach, this book focuses on children's uses of digital media in three sites--London, Casablanca and Beirut--and situates the study of Arab children and screen media within a wider frame, making connections between local, regional and global media content.
Designing Digital Experiences for Positive Youth Development by
Publication Date: 2012-03-02
Aims to guide readers in the design of digital technologies to promote positive behaviors in children and teenagers. Highlighting the positive impact of new technologies in various domains across the developmental span, from early childhood to late adolescence, the book explores how young people are using technology today, how these experiences influence different age groups and domains, and how mastering technological literacy can lead to confidence, competence, and developmental growth. Following this exploration, the author presents her own theoretical framework (coined Positive Technological Development, or PTD) for designing and evaluating programs to support children and teenager's positive uses of technology.
The Happiness Effect by
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Sexting. Cyberbullying. Narcissism. Social media has become the dominant force in young people's lives, and each day seems to bring another shocking tale of private pictures getting into the wrong hands... Have smartphones and social media created a generation of self-obsessed egomaniacs?Absolutely not, Donna Freitas argues in this provocative book. And, she says, these alarmist fears are drawing attention away from the real issues that young adults are facing.
Online Risk to Children: Impact, Protection, and Prevention by
Publication Date: 2017-07-24
Brings together the most up-to-date theory, policy, and best practices for online child protection and abuse prevention. Global in scope--chapters from Australia, the USA and Europe. Key topics covered include cyberbullying, peer-oriented abuse, victim treatment approaches, international law enforcement strategies, policy responses, and the role of schools and industry.
Parenting for a digital future : how hopes and fears about technology shape children's lives by
Publication Date: 2020
Offers a balanced, in-depth exploration of the realities of parenting today. Drawing on interviews with and surveys of diverse parents - rich and poor, parenting toddlers to teenagers - the text offers a warm and deeply human depiction of how parents' hopes and fears about technology influence how they remember their own pasts, how they parent in the present, and crucially, how they shape their children's futures.
Youth Media Matters by
Publication Date: 2018-01-15
Author draws on various theories to show how educators can harness the power of youth media to provide new opportunities for meaningful learning and "do-it-together production."
Library of congress Subject Headings