Guides: Children and Media: Databases

Proquest Databases

All of these databases can be searched together. No matter which one you go in on look for the "Change" link at the top of page to see the full list of options and click on the ones that pertain to your research.

APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
ERIC (Education Information Resource Center) - ProQuest
Indexes education-related journal articles and other publications. Cross-file search with other ProQuest databases.
LISA - Library and Information Science Abstracts
Includes research on users', including pre-K through college-age, practices and needs in the library and information arenas.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses Fulltext (formerly Dissertation Abstracts)
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day (full text for most dissertations added since 1997).
Social Services Abstracts
Indexing with abstracts for scholarly and professional journal literature in social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major areas of coverage include: crisis intervention, evaluation research, family welfare, gerontology, policy, planning, and forecasting, poverty and homelessness, social development, support groups and support networks, violence, abuse, and neglect, and welfare services, as well as professional issues and education in social work. Includes: Social Planning/Policy & Development Abstracts, SOPODA.

EBSCO Databases

All of these databases can be searched together. No matter which one you go in on look for "Choose Databases" at the top of the screen to see the full list of database options and click on the ones that pertain to your topic.

Communication Source
Developed from recent merge of Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, Communication Source is the premier research database for communication studies. Covers academic, popular and trade journals.

America: History and Life
A bibliographic database indexing books, book chapters, and over 1,800 journals relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
EBSCO MegaFILE
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Education Full Text
Indexes education journals, 1983 - present. Some full-text. Topics include: Arts, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Language Arts, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Preschool Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, and Teaching Methods.
ERIC (Education Information Resource Center) - EBSCO
Indexes education-related journal articles and other publications. Cross-file search with PDC & other EBSCO databases.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues and meets the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice.
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages.
Sage Family Studies Abstracts
Bibliographic citations with abstracts for literature on policy, theory, and research relating to the family, traditional and alternative lifestyles, therapy, and counselling. Subjects covered include adolescent development, adolescent pregnancy and parenthood, aging, child abuse, child custody, child physical disorders, child psychological problems, dating, bereavement, divorce, domestic abuse and violence, family economics, employment, fertility and birth control, gender relations, health problems, homosexuality, marriage and marital relations, and sexual attitudes.

Other Databases

Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
MEDLINE (complete file)
Premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. Ovid Interface

IZI-database.org
Database of the International Central Institute for Youth and Educational Television (IZI).