Guides: URBS 428: Research Seminar in 21st Century Urbanism: Research Tools

Handbooks

Little Blue Books - Qualitative Research Methods
This series of "Little Blue Books" are valuable handbooks for conducting qualitative social science.
Little Green Books - Quantitative applications in the social sciences
This series of "Little Blue Books" are valuable handbooks for conducting quantitative social science.
The Sage handbook of interview research : the complexity of the craft
Begins with the history and conceptual transformations of the interview, which is followed by chapters that discuss the main components of interview practice.

Encyclopedias

Listed below are selected reference works for social science research design, available online unless otherwise specified.

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement (Print)
Excellent signed articles on social research methods. In the Van Pelt Reference Stacks, H62 .E564 2005
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics
Explanations of statistical tests commonly used in social research. Also in print in the Van Pelt Reference Stacks, HA29 .S2363 2007
SAGE Encycopedia of Qualitative Research Methods
Articles and bibliographies on interviewing, focus groups, and other qualitative research methods. Also in print in Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks, H61 .S234 2008
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods
Detailed entries about methods for conducting surveys and analyzing results.

Weigle Information Commons Resources

Upcoming WICshops

Citation Management

A research project can generate hundreds of citations from diverse sources. Learn about citation management software that can help you save and organize your citations, as well as automatically generate bibliographies. Penn Libraries supports the use of two tools: RefWorks and Zotero.

RefWorks - web-based tool for extracting citations from databases and creating bibliographies.

Zotero - free, open source tool for saving citations in your browser, from databases or web sources.

Surveys and Data Analysis

Qualtrics
Qualtrics is an online service for creating and administering surveys. The School of Arts and Sciences has a site license for Qualtrics. SAS faculty, students and staff as well as students enrolled in SAS courses are eligible to use Qualtrics.
NVivo
Qualitative data analysis software available in the library.