Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The resources listed here will assist you in answering the questions on the Timeline and Overview Assignment. They will also provide you with essential context for finding and understanding more information about your country.
Contemporary country overviews
Europa World Year Book
Van Pelt Reference Desk JN1 .E85
Overviews and basic statistics for all countries, focusing on the present. Includes data on ethnic groups. The most recent edition is available at the Van Pelt Reference Desk. Use the regional version of the Yearbook to find more information on your country.
Similar to Europa but with briefer overviews. Includes data on religious groups.
Giant encyclopedia great for an online overview of the history and contemporary status of a country.
Library of Congress Area Studies Series
"Description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world." Coverage often ends a decade or more ago.
CIA World Factbook
Similar coverage as Europa, but with much more superficial coverage.
Overviews of languages by country.
Cambridge World History of Human Disease
Good coverage of the history of human disease covering pre-18th century to nearly the present. Regional rather than country specific entries.
Giant Encyclopedia great for an online overview of the history and contemporary status of a country.
Cambridge Histories Online
Thorough historical overviews-- including politics, demographics, and economics--of Latin America, Africa, South East Asia and other regions. To access, click on BROWSE and then choose REGIONAL HISTORIES
Contemporary health overviews