Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Advanced search options for full-text databases: Overview

Related resources

Searching Full-Text Databases

Full-text databases such as Eighteenth Century Collections Online and America's Historical Newspapers are important resources for conducting research in historical fields.  The ability to search for keywords and phrases across hundreds of thousands of pages is both an extraordinarily powerful way to identify relevant sources and a huge time saver for researchers.

However, the very power of full-text searching raises searching difficulties.  Searching for slavery and indigo in Eighteenth Century Collections Online will result in a list of books that have both terms even if they are hundreds of pages apart.  A search for slavery and indigo in America's Historical Newspapers will retrieve results in which "slavery" and "indigo" appear in different articles on the same page.

It is possible to ameliorate these and other problems by using proximity, phrase and wildcard operators that limit your search in rational ways that increase the relevance of your results.  This guide lists the operators for some specific full-text databases.

Subject Guide

Nick Okrent's picture
Nick Okrent
Contact:
Van Pelt Library, room 204
215-573-2217