American Newspapers: 20th Century Newspapers Online

Dozens of historical newspapers from the United States and other parts of the world. Includes major publications such as the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Boston Globe, as well as four major Jewish U.S. newspapers and many Black newspapers.

Runs of thousands of historic newspapers mainly published in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Database of hundreds of newspapers from large and small cities, mainly in the United States and England.
Includes such newspapers as:
Arizona Republic (1891-1972)
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1924)
Boston Globe (1854-1922)
Dallas Times Herald (1920-1986)
Columbus Evening Dispatch (1877-1969)
Kingston Gleaner (1834-2016)
New York World (1860-1903)
Austin Daily Texan (1900-1977)
San Antonio Express (1865-1977)
Syracuse Post-Standard (1875-2017)
Miami Herald (1917-1959)

The European edition of the Herald Tribune (later of the Washington Post and New York Times) with distribution across Europe and, later in its history, globally.

extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.

"The Daily Worker was the official mouthpiece of the Communist Party of the United States of America (CPUSA) between 1924 and 1958. While performing this function, the newspaper represented nevertheless much more than just a tool of political propaganda. Its reports covered a wide range of subjects, from policy reforms to labor strikes, from civil rights to housing and urban planning, from foreign policy to sports, literature, and general culture."

Dozens of historical newspapers from the United States and other parts of the world. Includes major publications such as the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Boston Globe, as well as four major Jewish U.S. newspapers and many Black newspapers.

Provides access to more than 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers and magazines.

Includes more than 100 journals, magazines, newsletters, special reports, unpublished papers and conference proceedings devoted to gender and women's issues.

Provides fulltext for U.S. alternative and independent newspapers, weeklies, and magazines.

Over 3,400 newspapers from most states. Includes both major and local newspapers, with dozens of ethnic newspapers (Black, Irish, French, Latin American, Native American, etc.) and labor newspapers.

The ANP was the largest and longest-lived news service to supply black newspapers in the United States with news of interest to black citizens, opinion columns, reviews of books, movies, and records, and occasionally poetry, cartoons, and photographs. The ANP provided its member newspapers with professionally written, detailed coverage of activities within black communities across the country.

Includes dozens of Native newspapers mostly spanning from 1900 through the 1970s.

This collection of periodicals focuses on newsletters issued by gay and lesbian political and social activist organizations throughout the country and on periodicals devoted to gay and lesbian political and social activist agendas.

Includes papers from: Atlanta, Cleveland, Detroit, Pittsburgh, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, etc.

Periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

afu Shimpo is the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the United States. The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California. By the 1940s it was the most widely circulated paper in the region and included a weekly English section for second generation Japanese Americans.

This continually growing collection contains over 140 newspapers and periodicals from the perspective of leftwing ideologies including socialism, communism and Marxism. Topics covered span workers’ rights and labor organizations, Nazi atrocities, the rise of McCarthyism, civil rights and modern-day class struggles. Content includes articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more." (from the landing page)

The Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents collection includes papers promoting and opposing white supremacy, published mainly in the 1920s. It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the US. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities.

the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.

280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

This continually growing collection contains over 140 newspapers and periodicals from the perspective of leftwing ideologies including socialism, communism and Marxism. Topics covered span workers’ rights and labor organizations, Nazi atrocities, the rise of McCarthyism, civil rights and modern-day class struggles. Content includes articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more." (from the landing page)

Includes papers such as the Daily Worker.