Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fulltext News Aggregators
These three fulltext databases together cover most available fulltext news sources. Their contents overlap, but each database has a particular strength.
Formerly, LexisNexis Academic. Access to full-text national and international newspapers, including the New York Times and the Times of London. News sources also include magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services.
Access World News (Newsbank)
Searchable fulltext of nearly 500 U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers, including the Philadelphia Inquirer and Philadelphia Daily News. Coverage for current issues with some backfiles extending to the late 1970s.
Access to full-text national and international newspapers, including the New York Times and the Times of London. News sources also include magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services.
Page-image News Sources
These databases present newspaper page-images with searchable fulltext for recent content.
ProQuest Recent Newspapers
Page-image versions of newspapers from around the world, with back-issue runs ranging from several months to several years. Includes Philadelphia Inquirer and Daily News, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, El Diario (New York), La Opinión (Los Angeles), and many regional and suburban newspapers worldwide. The database's title list is not stable, with titles coming and going.
Specialized fulltext news aggregators
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.
Newspaper Website + App Subscriptions
The Penn Libraries host subscriptions for several major newspaper website and mobile applications. These typically require an initial website registration through PennKey authentication. Registration may require students to specify their expected graduation date.
Searchable content on these websites and apps may extend back only a few years. For sure-footed content searching, consider using the Newspaper Compilations on this page.
The New York Times
The Penn Libraries' campus-wide subscription to The New York Times provides digital access to nytimes.com, including via tablet/mobile apps. This subscription does not include access to NYT Crossword/Games, Cooking, or e-reader editions (e.g. Kindle Fire, Nook).
The Washington Post
The Penn Libraries' campuswide subscription to The Washington Post provides access to the newspaper website only. PennKey authentication may be required for offcampus access.
The Wall Street Journal
The Penn Libraries' subscription to The Wall Street Journal provides personal registration for the WSJ.com website and also mobile app access.
The Penn Libraries' FT.com Premium subscription to Financial Times provides personal-login access to the FT.com website and its regional websites and the FT mobile app. Readers may set up myFT customized news feeds and virtual reading lists.