Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
British Newspapers Online
Gale Primary Sources
Simultaneous searching of the following news databases:
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th-18th Century Nichols Collection Newspapers
19th Century British Library Newspapers: Part 1
19th Century British Library Newspapers: Part 2
Economist Historical Archive
Financial Times Historical Archive
Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Sunday Times Digital Archive
Times Digital Archive
Telegraph Historical Archive
17th-18th Century Burney Collection
Newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) and held by the British Library digitized and made available online. This represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, totaling almost 1 million pages and containing approximately 1,270 titles. The collection focuses on series published in London.
Telegraph Historical Archive 1855-2000
The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years. Launched in 1855, The Telegraph was the first 1d morning paper (The Times was 7d). By 1876, The Telegraph was the largest-selling newspaper in the world, with a circulation of 300,000.
Transatlantic Civil Society in Periodicals, 1768-1925
This collection contains a series of American journals, magazines, and trade papers published in the United Kingdom and continental Europe from 1768 to 1925
Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2004
Described by the New Yorker as "the newspaper that rules Britain," the Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. It currently boasts a circulation of over 2 million, and its website is the most visited news site in the world
Other International Newspapers
Includes links to newspaper digitization projects from a wide range of countries. Particularly extensive digitization projects are available for European countries and Canada, but many other countries are represented.
Paper of Record
Hundreds of Canadian and Mexican newspapers with an emphasis on the 19th and early 20th century.
Access Newspaper Archive
Database of hundreds of newspapers from large and small cities, mainly in the United States and England. Includes the Kingston Gleaner (1834-2016).
Colonial Africa Newspapers from the British Library
This collection, which contains runs of colonial newspapers from Africa that span the years 1821–1922, offers a superb introduction to the geographical spread and types of newspapers available to students of European colonialism and indigenous resistance in Africa. The twenty-four titles found here represent newspapers published in nearly every main region of the colonized continent south of the Sahara: British West Africa, South Africa, Portuguese and British East Africa, and the Congo under King Leopold and Belgium.
Rand Daily Mail, 1902-1985
The Rand Daily Mail was the apartheid-era liberal newspaper for South Africa. Its coverage of South Africa before apartheid was decreed and during the apartheid era and the anti-apartheid movements over the decades would be very useful to students working on South African historical topics and the interrelationship between African American intellectual traditions and South African ideologies such as Black Consciousness; its cultural coverage directly addresses faculty interest in South African literature and music history.
Moscow News, 1930-1996
Online access to "Moscow News, founded in 1930, for years represented the official English-language press organ of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union. Throughout the years, Moscow News served as a tool of positive propaganda that the Soviet regime employed to embellish and polish its public image. As a consequence, censorship heavily affected its rhetoric, narrative, and contents, determining which issues were worthy of being reported and which ones had to be dismissed or ignored. For this reason, the newspaper is a rich resource for those who are interested in assessing the internal mechanism of the Soviet Union's cultural diplomacy and consensus-building machine."
World News in Indian Newspapers, 1782-1908
Three English language newspapers published in India during the period 1782-1908: The India Gazette (1782-1834); The Bengal Hurkaru and Chronicle (1822-1866); and The Bengal Times (1876-1908). These newspapers were primarily sold to colonial businessmen, merchants, and administrators with an interest in regional and international trade.
East African Newspapers
The East African Newspapers collection provides insight into this region during this critical time, featuring key newspapers from the region from the 1940s to the early 2000s.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers, 1870-2019
he Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.