Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Source of Trial Literature
Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926
Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, the Library of the Bar of the City of New York and the British Library, this digitized collection contains an extensive collection of published trial transcripts, popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, briefs, arguments, and related information.
This collection contains such famous and important works as John Lawson's "American State Trials," "Howell's State Trials," "Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals," "Reports of State Trials" and "Sixty Famous Cases." Also included is the full trial collection from Cornell University Law Library, one of the most complete collections in the United States. Coverage runs from pre-18th through 20th centuries.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
Over 150,000 cases covering every aspect of law and numerous types of resources, including transcripts, petitions and briefs.
OYEZ - U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia
Audio recordings in RealAudio format and transcripts for all Supreme Court proceedings, 1995 to present, with spotty coverage of individual cases prior to 1995 back to 1955 also available. Many cases that do not have audio recordings do have transcripts.
Chicago Anarchists on Trial: Evidence from the Haymarket Affair, 1886-1887
More than 3,800 images of original manuscripts, broadsides, photographs, prints and artifacts relating to the Haymarket Affair.
Collections of primary resources about over 50 famous trials. Information provided includes first hand accounts, government records, transcripts, and other out of copyright materials.
Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860
Contains over a hundred pamphlets and books concerning the experiences of African and African-American slaves in the American colonies and the United States. The documents comprise an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, examinations of cases and decisions, proceedings, and other works of historical importance.
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage and Sexuality in the U.S. & U.K., 1815-1914
Images of over 420 separately published trial narratives from the Harvard Law School Library, including cases involving adultery, divorce, homosexuality and other actions and relationship that fell outside of current social standards.