Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Source of Trial Literature
Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926
Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, the Library of the Bar of the City of New York and the British Library, this digitized collection contains an extensive collection of published trial transcripts, popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, briefs, arguments, and related information.
This collection contains such famous and important works as John Lawson's "American State Trials," "Howell's State Trials," "Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals," "Reports of State Trials" and "Sixty Famous Cases." Also included is the full trial collection from Cornell University Law Library, one of the most complete collections in the United States. Coverage runs from pre-18th through 20th centuries.
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage and Sexuality in the U.S. & U.K., 1815-1914
Images of over 420 separately published trial narratives from the Harvard Law School Library, including cases involving adultery, divorce, homosexuality and other actions and relationship that fell outside of current social standards.
English Reports, 1220-1867
Database including all 176 volumes of the English Reports, Full Reprint. This collection encompasses the decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865. It includes reprints of 275 separate series of reports reprinted verbatim and spaning the years 1220 to 1867.
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey London 1674 to 1834
"A fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court."
Crime Broadsides at Harvard Library
Digitized collection of over 500 British broadsides held by the Harvard Library system. "The examples digitized here span the years 1707 to 1891 and include accounts of executions for such crimes as arson, assault, counterfeiting, horse stealing, murder, rape, robbery, and treason."