Guides: Digital Data Security and Privacy: Journals and Articles Indexes

General Social Science Databases

ABI/Inform Aggregates content from thousands of business and management publications worldwide, including scholarly and trade publications.
America: History and Life A bibliographic database indexing books, book chapters, and over 1,800 journals relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Communication Source Leading communication database in the field--covers mass media, communication theory, organizational communication, cultural studies, linguistics, and information and media policy
EBSCO MegaFILE General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Historical Abstracts Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) Anthropology, economics, political science and sociology - journal articles, books, reviews.
Web of Science Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) Provides indexing and abstracting for key library and information science journals, books, and research reports.
Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA)‎ Library and information science, online retrieval, information theory (1969- present).

PAIS Index
PolicyFile Indexing with abstracts of U.S. and foreign domestic and international public policy research literature.
Scopus Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Sociological Abstracts Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.

HeinOnline Journals

Legal research database containing fulltext documents (PDFs) organized into collections. Below are some titles that would contain articles pertaining to data privacy and security.

Communications and the Law

Communications Lawyer

Electronic Communication Law Review

Harvard National Security Journal

Information & Communications Technology Law

International Journal of Information Security and Cybercrime

Journal of Law & Cyber Warfare

Journal of Law, Medicine and Ethics

Journal of Media Policy

Journal of Technology Law & Policy

Media Law & Policy

Michigan Telecommunications and Technology Law Review

Rutgers Computer and Technology Law Journal

Stanford Technology Law Review

UCLA Journal of Law and Technology

Virginia Journal of Law and Technology

Yale Journal of Law and Technology

Computer Databases

Computing Research Repository (CoRR) Online repository for research in the field of computing. Areas of relevance: Cryptology and Security, Social and Information Networks, and Computers and Society.
Guide to Computing Literature The Guide is a collection of bibliographic citations and abstracts of works published by ACM and other publishers. Material indexed includes books, journal articles, conference proceedings, doctoral dissertations, master's theses, and technical reports.
NTIS
The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) serves the USA as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. NTIS provides access to well over 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas from 1964-present. This database makes it easy to locate important government information. It provides full descriptive summaries of titles NTIS has received from government agencies and worldwide government-sponsored research. The information it contains represent hundreds of billions of research dollars and covers a range of important topics including: agriculture, biotechnology, business, communication, energy, engineering, the environment, health and safety, medicine, research and development, science, space technology; and transportation.
Engineering Village
The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.

Historical Surveillance Databases

Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden (DNSA)
Collection of leaked and declassified records documenting U.S. and allied electronic surveillance policies, relationships, and activities. Serves as an addition to several National Security Archive documents sets - including those on U.S. Intelligence and the National Security Agency.
FBI Surveillance Of James Forman And SNCC
Collection of FBI reports comprises the Bureau’s investigative and surveillance efforts primarily during the 1961-1976 period, when James Forman was perceived as a threat to the internal security of the United States. The collected materials also include Forman’s involvement with the "Black Manifesto" and the Bureau’s "COINTELPRO" investigations into "Black Nationalist - Hate Groups / Internal Security."
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation engaged in widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. Prominent among the targets of this sometimes coordinated, sometimes independent surveillance were aliens, members of various protest groups, Socialists, Communists, pacifists, militant labor unionists, ethnic or racial nationalists, and outspoken opponents of the policies of the incumbent presidents. Date range: 1920-1984, from the FBI Library.
National Security and FBI Surveillance Enemy Aliens
The Custodial Detention Index (CDI), was formed in 1939-1941, in the frame of a program called variously the "Custodial Detention Program" or "Alien Enemy Control." J. Edgar Hoover described it as having come from his resurrected General Intelligence Division—"This division has now compiled extensive indices of individuals, groups, and organizations engaged in subversive activities, in espionage activities, or any activities that are possibly detrimental to the internal security of the United States." Material ranges from 1948-1978 from the FBI Headquarters Library.

Digital Data Security and Privacy: Journals and Articles Indexes

General Social Science Databases

HeinOnline Journals

Academic Journals

Computer Databases

Historical Surveillance Databases