It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
15 reels, Adam Matthew, 1999.
Microfilm. Van Pelt Microtext: Microfilm 4423. Parts 1 & 2 only.
Finding aid: Online, Adam Matthew website.
• Part 1, reel 7 includes: Uganda, Missionary History, 1876-1927 / George K Baskerville.
• Part 2, reel 10 includes 6 letters, 1858-1859, from David Livingstone to Sir Frederick Grey regarding exploration in eastern Africa.
A fulltext collection of classic ethnographies, some contributed by missionaries. Individual paragraphs are indexed by subject. Use the Search:Advanced Search interface, search for the Subject = Missions (797), then "Create Another Sub-Group ..." to add other subjects, e.g. Subject = Acculturation and culture contact (177). Results will display sorted by Continent and Culture.
Hosted by the USC Digital Library, IMPA brings together images, ca. 1860 to ca. 1960, from many leading missionary society archives and research library collections. Some collections will also be available for viewing through their parent organization's websites. Includes more than 91,000 images from missions in Africa, with a large number of images from the Basel Mission, Danmission (Church of Denmark), Défap (Paris Evangelical Missionary Society), and Catholic Foreign Missionary Society of America.
Gale Cengage. Searchable fulltext for popular periodicals on travel, anthropology, missionaries, colonialism, and economics published in the UK during the 19th century. Includes Central Africa (Universities' mission), Church Missionary Gleaner (CMS), Medical Missions at Home and Abroad, and many more titles.
ProQuest. Searchable fulltext for popular periodicals published in the UK during the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes church periodicals, e.g., London quarterly and Holborn review (Methodist, 1853-1906), Methodist magazine (Wesleyan Methodist, 1778-1900) as well as general magazines that report on missionary activities.
A fulltext collection of more than 200 books, pre-1923, on missionary activities. Includes Christian missions and social progress: a sociological study of foreign missions / James S. Dennis (3 vols., 1898-1906), missionary manuals, lectures, and personal narratives.