Andean Studies

Articles+ searches through many of our Penn-subscribed journals, and brings you results all in one place.

JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database. Coverage dates from the earliest issue of each journal to a few years before the present.

Databases that either exclusively or partially correspond to Latin American Studies, with access available via Penn Libraries.

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) is a Latin American cooperative database that makes available articles from all areas of the "sciences," including the humanities and social sciences.

Redalyc is a fulltext journal project by members of the Facultad de Ciencias Politicas y Administracion Publica de la Universidad Autonoma de Estado de Mexico. The objective is to make more widely available the scientific production of Latin America and Iberia.

Citations to articles from over four hundred journals (most linking to fulltext) published worldwide on Latino and Latin American subjects in all fields of the humanities and social sciences. HAPI emphasizes coverage of journals produced in Latin America in Portuguese and Spanish, which are not indexed by other databases.
Holdings: 1970 to the present.

The Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly books, journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, book chapters, maps and atlases, and electronic resources (blogs, websites, online videos, etc.) dealing with Latin America. The multidisciplinary Handbook is edited and compiled by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.

Full text of Spanish-language and U.S. Hispanic magazines, newspapers and journals. The publications come from the United States, Mexico, Spain, Argentina, and other nations of Spanish America. Coverage for most publications begins in the mid or late 1990s.

LACLI is an international collaboration to create a repository of free online resources for Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies. It is a tool to find websites that provide access to a variety of resources such as audiovisual materials, books, data, ephemera, government documents, oral histories, periodicals, reference works, visual materials, web archives and more!

An enormous database of thousands of Latin American materials, including original historical documents, statistics, video, audio, images, reference books, articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, both current and historical

Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today.

Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) from over 2,000 journals from many countries. ca. 1974- present.

Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. English and foreign language sources include journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Citations only, but there are links to fulltext when available.

Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.

Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs. Indexes over 2000 journals from 35 countries, plus relevant dissertations, national and international conference papers, selected books and book chapters, book and other media reviews.

Bibliographic citations (1915-) with indexing on contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies.

67% of the more than 1500 monitored journals are published outside the United States, and there are nearly 500,000 records beginning in 1975. Some of the records have fulltext links and coverage includes all aspects of political science, as well as international relations and comparative politics.

Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. Sources include ournal articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, conference proceedings, et al.

Current content comes from more than 360 international music periodicals from over 20 countries, and there are over a hundred retrospective journal titles. There is a mix of full text, citations, and abstracts.

The ARTstor collection includes approximately 500,000 images of works of art, architecture and archaeology.

An art database, much of it full text, with extensive coverage of archaeology from more than 770 journals, 220 books, plus over 63,000 images.