Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Almanac of Higher Education - American Education Association - salaries, workload, college costs, state support.
- American Association of Community Colleges - DataPoints
- American Association of University Professors, Annual Report on the Economic Status of the Profession
- Adjunct Project - Chronicle of Higher Education - Crowdsourced site on adjunct salaries
- Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education
- Center on Education and the Workforce - Georgetown University
- A First Try at ROI: Ranking 4,500 Colleges
- Chronicle of Higher Education - Access to subscription, premium content. PennKey required. -
- College Board - Assessment Data - Data on the AP and SAT.
- Common Data Set (CDS) Initiative - A collaborative effort between data providers in the higher education community and publishers as represented by the College Board, Peterson's, and U.S. News & World Report designed to standardize information about applications, acceptances, SAT scores, factors considered, demographics at the institutional level.
- Data Quality Campaign (DQC) - DQC leads a partnership of nearly 100 organizations committed to realizing an education system in which all stakeholders are empowered with high-quality data.
- Delta Cost Project - Includes Trends in College Spending (TCS) Online, a web-based platform for financial information at the institutional level, and the Delta Cost Project Database, a longitudinal database derived from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) surveys on finance, enrollment, staffing, completions, and student aid for academic years 1986-87 through 2014-15.
- Education Trust - Data Tools
- Education Trust - State of Higher Education Equity
- Equal Opportunity Project - Includes papers, slides, and summaries, as well as data.
- Faculty Survey of Student Engagement (FSSE) - FSSE is administered nationally to faculty, instructors, and graduate students who teach at baccalaureate degree-granting colleges and universities that are concurrently administering NSSE or have participated in NSSE in the previous year.
- Grapevine - (College of Education, Illinois State University) Annual compilations of data on state tax support for higher education, including general fund appropriations for universities, colleges, community colleges, and state higher education agencies. Each year’s Grapevine survey has asked states for tax appropriations data for the new fiscal year and for revisions (if any) to data reported in previous years.
- Higher Education Research Institute, - Includes the annual CIRP Freshman Survey.
- Indicators of Higher Education Equity - Pell Institute
- International Graduate Admission Survey (CGS) - Council of Graduate Schools
- National Association of State Student Grant & Aids - Includes Annual Survey Report on Sponsored Student Financial Aid.
- National Longitudinal Survey of Freshmen (NLSF) -follows a cohort of first-time freshman at selective colleges and universities through their college careers
- National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE) - Through its student survey, the College Student Report, NSSE annually collects information from four-year colleges and universities about first-year and senior students' participation in programs and activities. The results provide an estimate of how undergraduates spend their time and what they gain from attending college.
- National Student Clearinghouse Research Center - Reports on postsecondary mobility, persistence, stop-out, and completion rates, undergrad degree earners, college completion at the state level.
- NCHEMS Information Center for Higher Education Policymaking and Analysis - Data on educational attainment, college access, affordability, persistence and completion, finance, and more.
- Open Doors - Information on international students in the US and worldwide. Most documents do not require password access. (Since UPenn is a member of IIE, students, faculty, and staff may request an individual, temporary password from IIE. Send email to firstname.lastname@example.org stating your Penn affiliation.)
- Pew Research Center - Education
- Science & Engineering Degree Attainment: 2004-2015
- State Higher Education Finance (SHEF) - SHEEO
- Trends in Higher Education - College Board - College Pricing, Student Aid
U.S. Government Sources
- Annual Report for Federal Student Aid - Department of Education
Scroll down to Performance and Accountability to see annual issues of this report.
- NCES Higher Education -Surveys & Programs
List of all NCES surveys at the higher education level.
- Baccalaureate and Beyond Longitudinal Study (B&B) - NCES
Survey of education and work experiences after completion of the bachelor's degree.
- Beginning Postsecondary Students Longitudinal Study (BPS) - NCES
Surveys of first-time, beginning students at the end of their first year, and three and six years after first starting in postsecondary education. It collects data on a student characteristics, school and work experiences, persistence, transfer, and degree attainment.
- Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool
From Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. Provide reports relating to campus crime and fire data.
- College Affordability and Transparency Center - U.S. Department of Education
Report generator - highest and lowest tuition by type of institution.
- College Scorecard
Provides information on average annual cost, cost based on family income, financial aid & debt, graduation & retention, typical SAT scores, most popular programs.
- DataLab for Postsecondary Education - NCES
Includes post-secondary data.
- High School Longitudinal Study of 2009
Nationally representative, longitudinal study of 23,000+ 9th graders from 944 schools in 2009, with a first follow-up in 2012 and a second follow-up in 2016
- Integrated Post Secondary Education Data Survey (IPEDS) - NCES
Gathers information from every college, university, and technical and vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs. Includes data on enrollments, program completions, graduation rates, faculty and staff, finances, institutional prices, and student financial aid.
IPEDS Tables via DataLab Tables Library
- National Postsecondary Student Aid Study (NPSAS) - NCES
Dataset on financial aid provided by the federal government, the states, post-secondary institutions, employers, and private agencies, along with student demographic and enrollment data.
Indicator 21: Criminal Incidents at Postsecondary Institutions, from Indicators of School Crime and Safety, NCES
Indicator 22: Hate Crime Incidents at Postsecondary Institutions, from Indicators of School Crime and Safety, NCES
- National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates United States - Bureau of Labor Statistics
Link to: 25-0000 Education, Training, and Library Occupations
- National Science Foundation
Includes institutional profiles, science student demographics, doctoral receipients, federal funding for research.
- Student and Exchange Visitor Program - U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement
Includes SEVIS by the Numbers: Biennial Report on International Student Trends
- Survey of Earned Doctorates
National Science Foundation