Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected journals on the sociology of education
Ethnography and Education
Online. Routledge, 2006-present.
Social Psychology of Education
Online. Springer, 1996-present. Quarterly.
International Perspectives on Education and Society
Print only. Van Pelt 4th floor stacks LC189.8 .I57
Emerald, 1989-present. Annual.
Discourse : studies in the cultural politics of education
Online, with 18-month embargo, 1999-present, via EBSCOhost. Routledge, 198-present. Bimonthly.
Taboo : the journal of culture and education
Online, 2007-present, via EBSCOhost. Caddo Gap Press, 1995-present. Irregular.
Anthropology & Education Quarterly
Online. Wiley for Council on Anthropology & Education (American Anthropological Association), 1976-present. Quarterly.
Early years, as Council on Anthropology and Education Quarterly and Newsletter.
School Community Journal
Online (open access). Center for the School Community, 1991-present. Semiannual.
Education and Urban Society
Online. SAGE, 1968-present. Nine/year.
Online. SAGE, 1965-present. Ten/year.
Education and Culture : E & C
Online. Purdue University Press, 1976-present. Semiannual.
Journal of the John Dewey Society. Early years, as Current Issues in Education
Online, 2001-present via EBSCOhost. Caddo Gap Press, 1986-present.
Globalisation, Societies and Education.
Online. Carfax, 2003-present. Five/year.
Global Studies of Childhood
Online. SAGE, 2011-present. Quarterly.
Chinese Education and Society
Online, 1993-present (with apparent embargo) via EBSCOhost. Taylor & Francis, 1993-present.
Unabridged translations of Chinese studies in education and society from Chinese journals and other sources. Continues Chinese Education
Éducation et sociétés
Online. De Boeck, 2001-present via CAIRN. Semiannual.
Affiliated with Association Internationale des Sociologues de Langue Française, Comité "Éducation, Formation, Socioalisation".
Journal of Educational Media, Memory, and Society
Online. Berghahn for Georg Eckert Institute for International Textbook Research, 2009-present. Semiannual.
Specializes in representations of societies through formal and informal educational media.
Article indexes and databases
SocAbs - Sociological Abstracts
1952 to the present, via ProQuest.
The comprehensive bibliographic database for research in sociology and related disciplines worldwide. SocAbs recently absorbed Social Services Abstracts, expanding its coverage to social work and social policy.
HINT! The SocAbs subject thesaurus includes several descriptor clusters for specific populations (e.g., Parent Attitudes, Racial Differences, Family Work Relationship). To find the variety of descriptors in these clusters, search the SocAbs thesaurus for these terms : differences, attitudes, relations, relationship.
ERIC. US Department of Education
1966-present, via ProQuest.
The comprehensive database for the research and professional literature of education. Particularly useful for its gray literature coverage.
HINT! Use ERIC's thesaurus and its grade-level filters.
(1880)-present, via EBSCOhost.
Complements ERIC, also includes trade and professional journals, magazines, and newsletters for educators.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
1970-present, via EBSCOhost.
Several bibliographic databases with one search interface. Its specialization provides better coverage for family research publications than more broad databases.
IBSS - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
1951-present, via ProQuest.
Somewhat deeper and much broader than SocAbs for non-US research. Covers sociology, anthropology, economics, political science.
APA PsycINFO. American Psychological Assocation
1806-present, via ProQuest.
The comprehensive bibliographic database for psychological research publications.
HINT! Use the PsycINFO Thesaurus to identify relevant search terms, and use the age-level filters to focus on specific age groups.
Early 19th century-present, via EBSCOhost.
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of anthropology. Its strength is its weakness : combining the databases of Harvard University's Tozzer Library and the Library of the British Museum Department of Ethnography (Museum of Mankind) presents lots of duplication.
1915-present, via ProQuest.
Bibliographic database covering contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide. "Contemporary" is taken seriously by PAIS Index, so the database is particularly useful for comparing policy issues over time. Covers articles, books, government documents, and some gray literature.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
1907-1984, via EBSCOhost.
Indexing the major scholarly journals in many disciplines, this was the standard US-oriented finding tool for the sociological journal literature before SocAbs
1972-2015, via CNRS.
The French social sciences bibliographic database, indexing journal articles worldwide. Compiled from subject-specific indexes in the Bulletin Signalétique series, including Bulletin Signalétique 520 : Pédagogie and ... : Sciences de l'éducation.