Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Related Penn Libraries guides
Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature
Bibliographies are lists of works organized around a topic, while guides to the literature are systematic introductions to the literature of a field.
Literature reviews are a handy way to get quickly into the scholarly literature. A typical literature-review article will provide a narrative that identifies and describes dozens of journal articles and books.
Oxford Bibliographies : Sociology
A collection of more than 150 bibliographic essays on individual sociological topics. Each essay provides a list of 100 or so classic works and interesting works as well as textbooks, reference and data sources, and journals organized by subtopics. See, for example:
/ Kristin Jordan and Jennifer C Lee. 2011.
• "Gender and education"
/ Claudia Buchmann and Chrisse Edmunds. 2018.
• "Education and health"
/ Robert A Hummer and Lauren M Perry. 2013.
• "Education policy in the United States"
/ Lindsey Young et al. 2018.
"The three generations of cultural capital research : a narrative review" / Scott Davies and Jessica Rizk. Review of Educational Research 88, 3 (June 2018): 331-365.
Presents educational research on cultural capital as three traditions, from the works of Paul DiMaggio, Annette Lareau, and Randall Collins.
"Critical policy sociology : key underlying assumptions and their implications for educational policy research" / Kapil Dev Regmi. International Journal of Research & Method in Education 42, 1 (2019): 59-75
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Use dictionaries and encyclopedias to learn quickly about the state of research on your topic. A good encyclopedia article should describe major themes, current research fronts, and controversial areas; it should also provide a brief bibliography of classic, important, or definitive works on your topic.
Readers and Anthologies
Not quite a handbook, guide to the literature, or literature review, readers and anthologies can be useful for quick access to classic works or model works on specific topics.
The SAGE Major Works anthologies leverage SAGE Publications' depth in social sciences publishing. For each set, the introductory "Overview" essays serve as literature reviews or handbook chapters. The remainder of each set is bibliographic citations for articles or book chapters highlighed in the "Overview".
HINT! Use the PennText Article Finder to locate fulltext for cited articles. The Penn Libraries have a subscription to all SAGE ejournals and their backfiles, and PennText should point successfully to fulltext.
Ethnographic methods in education / Sara Delamont, ed.
Online. 4 vols. SAGE, 2012.
Arranged in four sections:
• Contexts and theories.
• Educational settings.
• Educational contents : knowledge, and power.
• Participants in education : pupils, students, teachers, lecturers.
Social theory and education research / Mark Murphy, ed.
Online. 4 vols. SAGE, 2013.
Arranged in four sections:
• Inequality, inclusion, and education.
• Identities : notions of educational selves and subjectivities.
• Teaching and learning : curricular and pedagogical practice.
• Governance and management : performativity, audit cultures, and accountability.
Handbooks generally offer chapters on specific aspects of a topic. As a collection of essays, the handbook's chapters should provide a broad overview of the state of research; individually, chapters may be narrowly focused.