Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See our guide on Using E-Resources, including these two tools for easy access to full-text when available:
Browse Journal Tables of Contents
BrowZine - Table of contents of recent issues of many scholarly journals in all fields. Connect to full-text. Create personalized shelves. Search by journal title, ISSN, and subject categories. App available.
Newspaper Website + App Subscriptions
The Penn Libraries host subscriptions for several major newspaper website and mobile applications. These typically require an initial website registration through PennKey authentication. Registration may require students to specify their expected graduation date.
Searchable content on these websites and apps may extend back only a few years. For sure-footed content searching, consider using the Newspaper Compilations on this page.
The New York Times
The Penn Libraries' campus-wide subscription to The New York Times provides digital access to nytimes.com, including via tablet/mobile apps. This subscription does not include access to NYT Crossword/Games, Cooking, or e-reader editions (e.g. Kindle Fire, Nook).
The Washington Post
The Penn Libraries' campuswide subscription to The Washington Post provides access to the newspaper website only. PennKey authentication may be required for offcampus access.
The Wall Street Journal
The Penn Libraries' subscription to The Wall Street Journal provides personal registration for the WSJ.com website and also mobile app access.
The Penn Libraries' FT.com Premium subscription to Financial Times provides personal-login access to the FT.com website and its regional websites and the FT mobile app. Readers may set up myFT customized news feeds and virtual reading lists.
Searching for Literature ...
Books and Searchable E-Book Collections
Use the Franklin Catalog
to find books, edited volumes, handbooks, journal holdings, videos, and more at Penn. Link directly to other ebook platforms. See below for request options.
Subject-Focused Databases for Articles and More
Find online scholarly journal articles in subject focused databases in education, language and linguistics, psychology, and other fields.
Online Reference Works
Browse a selection of education-related handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and directories and learn to discover others.
Access full-text dissertations online from Penn and from other institutions of higher education.
Request Print Works Owned by the Penn Libraries
To Request Print Materials: Go to the Franklin Catalog, login (upper right corner), search for item, click Options button to see these choices.
- Pickup@Penn - request that "available" items be readied for pick up at the Van Pelt Library.
- Books by Mail- have Penn print books sent to addresses in the United States and Canada. Registration is required. You must have an email address in the Penn Directory. (Video - How to use Books by Mail)
- Request Digital Delivery- request scans of print journal articles or up to 50 pages of a book owned by the Penn Libraries. (Video - How to use Request Digital Delivery and Interlibrary Loan)
Request Materials From Libraries Beyond Penn
- Articles or Chapters
The Sage Research Methods offers more than 1k books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics in the social sciences.
Linkedin Learning at https://www.linkedin.com/learning is an online learning platform with courses on software, technology and learning-related, and personal development. Students, faculty, and staff have access to all content. Click Sign In, enter your Penn email, then click Sign in with Single Signin. Individual videos are listed in the Franklin Catalog.
Set up citation and journal alerts for up to twenty journals using the free version of JournalTOCs. Many of the library databases offer the option to set up alerts too.
Additional Education Guides
U.S. Government Documents
For policy-related issues, these two guides with links to Government document sources may be useful:
Librarian & Coordinator for Social Sciences Collections
Subjects: African Studies
, Aging Studies
, Data & GIS
, Food Studies
, Health & Societies
, International Relations
, Philadelphia Studies
, Political Science
, Population Studies & Demography
, Public Policy & Administration
, Social Sciences
, Urban Studies