Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Penn Libraries: Search for books and other materials
HathiTrust COVID-19 Temporary Access to some print works
- HathiTrust has opened up digital versions of some Penn books that we have in print. Click the yellow “LOG IN” button / Select: University of Pennsylvania / Click Continue / Log in with PennKey and password / Search for resources accessible, which includes many works we normally only have in print. Works can be checked out briefly, with renew options, and cannot be downloaded.
Libraries beyond Penn: Search books from other libraries
BorrowDirect, EZ Borrow, and Interlibrary Loan (BD/EZ/ILL)
BorrowDirect and EZBorrow are now operational for those libraries able to supply works. Delivery options are PickUP@Penn and Books by Mail.
Search multiple academic libraries and request books not owned or available at Penn. Advanced Search offers greater functionality. You will receive 3 emails - request received, shipped, ready for pickup. Also, through this link, on the left, access interlibrary loan request forms for books (not available in BorrowDirect/E-ZBorrow) and journal articles not available online. BorrowDirect loan=16 weeks, E-ZBorrow=12 weeks.
See: Reciprocal Borrowing Agreements including On Site BorrowDirect Borrowing
| Borrow Direct Members
| E-Z Borrow Academic libraries in PA,NJ,WV
Direct link to interlibrary loan request forms to make requests outside of BorrowDirect and EZ Borrow:
Keep up with recent book publishing and discover works not owned by Penn or our partner libraries. Search by keyword, author, or known subject heading words. Set the sort to date to see the most recent works. Use this sources to identify works and make purchase requests.
Searchable E-Book Platforms and Collections
Penn Libraries has access to selected content on many platforms. In most cases, there are records for individual ebooks in the Franklin Catalog.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Access selected online books from this platform, searchable in full-text. After search, check box for "Owned and subscribed to by my library." Titles owned or subscribed on this site are also in the Franklin Catalog.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Access selected online books from this platform, searchable in full-text. Titles owned or subscribed on this site are also in the Franklin Catalog.
We acquire numerous academic press books on this platform. There are post search limits by Type for: Books, Chapter, Multi Volume Work.
We have purchased access to many books on this platform. In the advanced search, you can limit to "content I can access" and item type "Books."
CogNet Cognitive science. Downloadable PDFs.
HeinOnline Legal research database containing fulltext documents (PDF) organized into collections including: Legal Classics, Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, Subject Compilations of State Laws, and the United Nations Law Collection.