Guides: Education: Articles in Education Databases

Education

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (ProQuest interface)
Indexes education journals (most comprehensively, some selectively), as well as education-related materials from scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, dissertations, and theses. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Covers 1966-present. See ERIC Selection Policy. Combine searches with other ProQuest databases like PsycINFO or LLBA. (PennKey required).
more...less...
Of the journal content, c. 260 journals offer full-text and c. 50 provide full-text after an embargo period.
Education Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
“Education Source Ultimate is the world's largest and most comprehensive full-text research database designed for education students, researchers, professionals and policymakers. Coverage of education studies spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties ranging from educational assessment and education ethics to educational technology, literacy, research methodology and more."
more...less...
Education Source Ultimate includes:
- 658 active full-text, non-open access journals not available in any version of Academic Search
- 2,544 active indexed and abstracted journals. 2,289 of them are peer-reviewed
- rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 923 active global OA journals
- more than 4,400 full-text education-related conference papers.
- a collection of 415 videos from SimpleK12 to provide practical online teacher training that addresses the evolving landscape of education. See Education Source Ultimate Journal Coverage List. Education Source Ultimate includes the content in EBSCO's Professional Development Collection, Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983, and Education Index Full-text (H.W. Wilson). (PennKey required).
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (EBSCO interface)
Same content and similar functionality to ERIC (ProQuest), on the EBSCOhost platform, shared with Education Source database.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center - Public version
While the public version of ERIC will only take you to full-text ERIC documents and does not have linking to PennText articles, unique features available here include different limiters for: specific source, author, and identifiers for laws, assessments, and location.
ERIC ED Microfiche Collection
Many ERIC Documents (ED accession numbers) are now accessible online, for those that are not, Penn Libraries holds a complete collection of ERIC fIche. Use this Franklin Catalog record to request fiche.

Additional Education Databases

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Education
Annotated bibliographies on specific topics, identifying useful overview and reference works, classic works, controversial works, and other significant books and articles on the topic. Bibliographic articles are frequently updated.
LearnTechLib - The Learning and Technology Library
Covers more than 25+ years and indexes journals, conference proceedings, reports, presentations on educational technologies and e-learning.
Educational Administration Abstracts
A bibliographic database covering all areas of educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management and educational research.
NCES Bibliography
Identifies journal articles that use data from National Center for Education Statistics research programs, 1973-present. Assembled by NCES from searching online bibliographic databases (e.g., ERIC, JSTOR, EconLit, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses).
UNESDOC (UNESBIB) / UNESCO
UNESDOC, the UNESCO Digital Library, is the repository for UNESCO publications and UNESCO-sponsored publications, and also for UNESCO Director-General speeches and documents of UNESCO's governing bodies, drawn from the UNESCO Library, UNESCO Archives, and documentation centers in UNESCO field offices and institutes.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Useful for research on academic, school, and public libraries.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Search for children and young adult works by age, grade, genre, awards, language, series, and reading metrics. Includes some reviews.

Observatory on Borderless Higher Education
Tracks news, issues, and provides commissioned reports on higher education issues.

History of Education

Past Masters
Includes the full-text of The Collected Works of John Dewey, 1882-1953 (First release) and Correspondence.
Education Index Retrospective
Covers 1929-1983. Choose document type: Book Review.
Record of current educational publications / US Bureau of Education
A classified bibliography, quarterly with annual index. Covers 1921-1932.
Monthly record of current educational publications / US Bureau of Education.
A classified bibliography, monthly with annual index. Covers 1912-1921.
Bibliography of education. US Bureau of Education.
A classified bibliography. Covers 1899-1912.
L'Année pédagogique.
French-language annual bibliography, covering 1911-1913.