Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Multidisciplinary Databases for Journal Articles and more...
Comprehensive database of scholarly and popular journal articles, ebooks, newspaper articles, reports, etc. Includes the content of some subject databases, but not all - for example, not PsycINFO and soon, not MLA Bibliography.
Peer-reviewed literature across science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for affiliation searching. Check out the Analyze Results feature.
Web of Science (WOS)
Scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes international conferences proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and conventions. Known for cited reference searching (video)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences IBSS (ProQuest)
Covers journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters in the social sciences from 1951 to the present. Half the titles from outside the US and UK. See ProQuest IBSS Guide
Combines many EBSCO databases including ERIC, Education Source, and more. Do not limit to full-text only or you loose PennText only items.
Publishes journals of reviews in physical, life and social sciences. Includes economics, linguistics, public health, psychology, sociology, and more. This can be a great place to find reviews on many topics.
Back issues of academic journals andsome books and primary sources. Recent issues of some journals. Warning: JSTOR is weak in the social sciences.
Full text to 300+ scholarly journals.
Periodicals Index Online
Humanities and social sciences. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.