Education: Open Access

See About Open Textbook Library

Covers over 16,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

Indexes academic repositories, conference proceedings, journals, monographic series, and scholarly blogs.

SSRN is a platform for the dissemination of early-stage research focusing on the social sciences. SSRN is a searchable online library that enables authors to post their papers and abstracts easily and free of charge. The vast majority of papers can be downloaded free of charge as well. The only exceptions are papers whose copyright is held by third parties that request a download fee. SSRN provides a space for a variety of content types to be accessed beyond the traditional research article, including gray literature, book reviews, multimedia files, and datasets.

OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources. This catalog was built through harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH).

Search the content of freely available academic research in open access repositories around the world.

Images, text, videos, and sound from collections in the United States.

Index to free cultural and educational media,

Biological and Medical sciences. Penn Libraries have an institutional membership with PeerJ, and will pay the cost of a basic membership for each Penn author (identified via their use of an email address in the @upenn.edu domain) on a paper that is accepted for publication in PeerJ.

Peer-reviewed, open access journals in biology, medicine and health.