Guides: Education: Articles in Subject Databases

Locating Fulltext for Journal Articles

These brief Penn Libraries videostreams give tactics for locating fulltext - covering paywalled ejournal pages, in-text citations, and DOIs and URLs. Some of the videostreams show a superseded version of the Penn Libraries catalog and its Articles+ integration, but the tactics will work with the new Penn Libraries catalog and its Articles+ integration. NOTE! You may need to use your PennKey to sign into the Penn Libraries mediaspace.

Anthropology

Anthropology PLUS (EBSCO)
Combines the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases. Covers anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Indexes journals from the early 19th century to the present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest)

Art, Music, Film

Art & Architecture Source

Music Index Online
Covers indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry. Coverage dates back to 1964.

The editor-librarians at Harmonie Park Press survey data from more than 690 international music periodicals and review new journals for possible inclusion. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries. (from Music Index website)
Film & Television Literature Index
Film Index International

Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals, Full Text Edition)
A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.

Business & Economics

ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest)
Indexes scholarly journals, including key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. All fields in business, including communications, human resources, management, and workplace learning. See ProQuest ABI/Inform Global Guide.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Bibliographic and full text content in most disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Indexes 1,200 scholarly journals. Non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles. Updated monthly.
EconLIT (ProQuest)
Published by the American Economic Association. Provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations. The database also includes links to full-text of some 40,000 working papers in economics. (PennKey required) See ProQuest EconLit Guide.
EconPapers
The search interface for RePEc, the largest open-access economics working papers repository. Uses JEL classification codes as subject access. Also accessible as an OSF preprint service.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest)

NBER Working Papers
Working papers in Economics for public policy makers, business professionals, and the academic community. Includes NBER Technical Working Papers and NBER Papers in Development of the American Economy.
BCC Research
Global market research reports. Covers education sector, especially in regard to technology.
Conference Board
Business & Economics Portfolio only: full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and economics. Selected topics covered include: employee engagement, operational excellence, strategic HR, strategic workforce planning.
EMIS
Includes current industry and market reports on education sector. Particularly strong on international coverage. Search Educational Services under Industries.

Forrester
A technology-oriented market report research site. You must register; then you can log onto Forrester.com from anywhere.

Sage Business Cases
Cases published by several business schools (e.g. Kellogg, Berkeley, Cambridge), as well as original cases produced by Sage covering all areas of business.

Communication

Communication Source (EBSCO)
Abstracts/indexing for over 1000 journals, with full-text for about 600 of these pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and related fields.

Gender & Sexuality

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
Primary sources generated by the community including newspapers, magazines, ephemera, oral histories. International in scope.
Contemporary Women's Issues
GenderMed DB
GenderMed Database is a systematic collection of scientific publications in the medical field analysing sex and gender differences. Both sex-specific and gender-specific analyses have been included.
GenderWatch
With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch™ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach.

Health, Psychology, Medicine

APA PsycInfo (ProQuest)
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive index of the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, chapters, books and dissertations, published internationally. Over 1,500 of the journals are comprehensively indexed. See ProQuest Guide to APA PsycInfo.
APA PsycNet
Access APA PsycArticles (long runs of fulltext journals), APA PsycBooks (ebooks), APA PsycTests (test instruments and documentation), and APA PsycTherapy (therapeutic counseling videostreams).

CogNet
Research on the brain and cognitive science from a number of fields including artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, philosophy and education.

PEP (Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing) Archive
Full-text collection of premier journals and classic books on psychoanalysis. Content covers 1871-2015. PEP Archive also contains the full-text of: many classic books.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Covers 1985-present. Access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, ) in health and the psychosocial sciences. Instruments themselves are not included in the database; but HAPI can be used to find instruments that appear in journal articles, determine reliability and validity, and track the history of an instrument over time. Note the Source Code field - primary source indicates that the source article contains a copy of the test.
Medline (OVID) (complete years)
The premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature.
PubMed Plus, with Full-text
The public version of Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. This enhanced version has links to those full-text journals to which the Penn Library subscribes.
CINAHL
CINAHL covers the journal literature in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. It provides complete coverage of the journals of the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association back to 1981. CINAHL is useful for researching school health and social services topics.

History

America History and Life (EBSCO)
Useful for history of U.S. higher education topics.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
World history, excluding U.S. and Canada, from 1415 to the present.
Periodicals Online Index
Searches many older periodicals. The metadata is slim so searches should be simple.

Language & Linguistics

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest)
Indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews from over1,500 serials publications, and abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. See ProQuest Search Guide for LLBA.

Linguistic Bibliography Online
Bibliographical references to scholarly publications on all branches of linguistics and all the languages of the world.

Law, Justice System, Criminology

Nexis Uni
Includes state administrative codes. Click "menu" at top and then "All Sources" in order to see jurisdictions. Separate Law review search.
Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)
Journals, books, government and non-governmental reports in criminology and related disciplines. Covers 1968-present.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service NCJRS (ProQuest)
Indexes U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, and journal articles.

Literature

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Provides information about children's books, video and audio recordings, film strips, and other child-focused media. Entries include summary publication information, annotations, reading measurement program levels, reviews, and full MARC cataloging information. For the children's books, CLCD provides full-text reviews from independent review sources; review sources are listed in the Database Review. Search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Limit by category (ficture or non-fiction), qualifier (age, language, author/illustrator, publisher, or date), or genre.

Something About the Author
Facts and pictures about contemporary authors and illustrators of books for young people..
Annual bibliography of English language and literature: ABELL
Citations to books, articles, and book reviews. Includes coverage of English in international contexts, including sociolinguistics and language policy.

MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages.

Policy and Political Science

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) (ProQuest)
International serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including development nations, economic policy, comparative politics, and public policy.
PAIS Index (ProQuest)
Public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics including education.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest)

PolicyFile
Indexing with abstracts of U.S. and foreign domestic and international public policy research literature.

Policy Commons
Fulltext database of IGO and NGO documents reports, and briefing papers, with worldwide coverage.
Public Policy Research Think Tanks
Rankings of policy thinktanks worldwide, with links to their websites. Produced by James McGann, Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program, University of Pennsylvania.

Public Opinion Polls

Polling the Nations
A database of polls taken on a variety of subjects all over the world. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Records are indexed by subject matter, publication year, general and specific location, and survey method.
IPoll databank @ the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
US national wide public opinion. Current polls, as well as question back to 1935.

Race, Ethnicity, & Culture

Black Thought and Culture
Non-fiction writings by major American black leaders-teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures-covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
Black Studies Center
Includes Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, Newspapers, and Black Literature Index.
Chicano Database
Covers Mexican-American topics and, for materials published since 1992, broader topics relating to Latinos. The database indexes books and book chapters, articles, newspapers, and dissertations from a broad range of subject disciplines. Publications may be in Spanish or English. Abstracts are often included.
1967 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-
Provides access to more than 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers and magazines.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index HAPI
Covers Latin America and U.S. Latinos in all areas of the humanities and social sciences. HAPI cites articles published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish from over four hundred journals. 1970 to the present.
Race Relations Abstracts
Covers 1975 - present. bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Religion

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion combined with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including Muslim minorities around the world. Indexes journals, as well asconference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London,
RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Compiled primarily from periodicals and article collections in the holdings of the Jewish and National University Library in English, Hebrew, Yiddish, and other European languages as well as selected articles from publications not held by the JNUL.

RAMBI, the Index of Articles on Jewish Studies, is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and the study of the Land of Israel (Erets Israel), arranged by subject. The material is compiled from thousands of periodical and collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish and European Languages, mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library (JNUL). Journals and new publications indexed cover the following subjuect areas: Booklore and Bibliography, Bible, post-Biblical literature and Early Christianity, Rabbinic Literature and and the Jewish Law, Philosophy and Religion, Litergy and the Jewish Annual Cycle, Literature, Language, Jewish History in the Diaspora, the Land of Israel, and the Cultural Life of the Jewish People. Includes author and subject indices.

Sociology / Social Services

Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Combined file of Sociological Abstracts + Social Services Abstracts. Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Social Work Abstracts
Covers social work and other related topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest)

Education: Articles in Subject Databases

Subject-Focused Databases for Journal Articles and other Publications