An Introduction to Grounded Methodology for Emerging Educational Researchers by Simon HayhoeIntroducing the reader to grounded methodology and its ethical approach, this book explores the theory behind the method as well as how to use it to develop and evaluate learning and education projects. Grounded methodology is designed to challenge traditional educational research methodologies, and in doing so questions the notion of the need for highly formal research in institutional settings. In this respect, it is also a simple way of planning an educational project that needs an evaluative element. Covering data collection techniques used in the course of education research such as observations, interviews, course development, participant diaries and online data collection, this book investigates the practical realities of researching in education contexts and the differences in educational, national and cultural backgrounds. It is ideal reading for students and academics looking to update and increase their knowledge on grounded methodology, especially students who are researchers in final-year undergraduate or post-graduate level programs, or instructors planning to teach grounded theory or grounded methodology to their own emerging research students.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
Conducting Quantitative Research in Education by Saiyidi Mat Roni; Margaret Kristin Merga; Julia Elizabeth MorrisThis book provides a clear and straightforward guide for all those seeking to conduct quantitative research in the field of education, using primary research data samples. While positioned as less powerful and somehow inferior, non-parametric tests can be very useful where the research can only be designed to accommodate data structure which is ordinal, or scale but violates a normality assumption, which is required for parametric tests. Non-parametric data are a staple of educational research, and as such, it is essential that educational researchers learn how to work with these data with confidence and rigour.
Call Number: Print: Van Pelt Library. LB1028 .M38 2020
Call Number: Print: Van Pelt Library LB1028 .P73 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
Doing Fieldwork at Home by Loukia K. Sarroub (Editor); Claire Nicholas (Editor)This book engages readers via the international contributions from "home" field sites around the world and international authors. Importantly, the various chapters address a wide spectrum of educational contexts - ranging from higher education, to K-12 public and private schools, to prison schools. The realistic accounts portrayed in each of the chapters address how local collaborations are instantiated through the research process, from access and data collection to the write-up phases. The major themes that emerge across the chapters highlight 1) positionality and negotiation of multiple roles, i.e., researcher, educator, colleague, friend, community member; 2) reconciling multiple, hybrid, and intersectional identities with varying insider/outsider statuses vis-a-vis research participants; 3) resulting power dynamics in connection to relational identities - sometimes conflicting, consolidating, equalizing, and/or elevating; 4) innovative methodological responses to these dilemmas; and 5) integrated research designs and research ethics, offering possibilities for participation and insights on the social impact of research findings. Each of the book's chapters thus individually and collectively treat and resolve local ways of doing home (field) work and highlight the creation and sharing of knowledge among researchers and research participants.
* Designed for students who will be writing research proposals, reports, theses, and dissertations. * The 15 chapters cover 191 guidelines for effective scientific writing. The guidelines are fully illustrated with easy-to-follow examples. * The guidelines describe the types of information that should be included, how this information should be expressed, and where various types of information should be placed within a research report. * End-of-chapter questions help students master the writing process.
Writing Skills for Education Students by Charlotte Barrow; Rebecca WestrupThis concise text will help your students get to grips with the core academic skills they need to succeed at written assignments, including critical thinking, reading, note-making and assignment planning. It also equips students with practical strategies for reflecting on their learning and placement experiences and using observational data from their placements in written assignments. Chapters incorporate subject-specific examples and activities, which make it easier for students to develop these skills and apply them to their own work. This engaging book will be an essential companion for all students of Education, Childhood Studies and related disciplines.
Call Number: Print: Van Pelt Library. LB1033.5 .B37 2019
Call Number: Van Pelt Reserves Desk - First Floor H62 .S31856 2021
Publication Date: 2021-03-31
Community-Based Qualitative Research by Laura Ruth JohnsonThis practical text integrates theoretical perspectives with guidelines for designing and implementing community-based qualitative research projects. Coverage of participatory research designs and approaches is complemented by chapters on specific aspects of this research process, such as developing relationships and sharing findings to strengthen programs. Included are useful handouts and templates for applying to the reader's own projects, and end-of-chapter questions for self-reflection and class discussion. Readers will find the book's engaging case studies, interdisciplinary real-life examples, and insights from project participants as a helpful foundation for future work in the field.
Call Number: Print. Van Pelt Library. HM756 .J637 2017
Qualitative Data Analysis by Matthew B. Miles; A. Michael Huberman; Johnny SaldañaThe Third Edition of Miles & Huberman′s classic research methods text is updated and streamlined by Johnny Saldaña, author of The Coding Manual for Qualitative Researchers. Several of the data display strategies from previous editions are now presented in re-envisioned and reorganized formats to enhance reader accessibility and comprehension. The Third Edition′s presentation of the fundamentals of research design and data management is followed by five distinct methods of analysis: exploring, describing, ordering, explaining, and predicting. Miles and Huberman′s original research studies are profiled and accompanied with new examples from Saldaña′s recent qualitative work. The book′s most celebrated chapter, "Drawing and Verifying Conclusions," is retained and revised, and the chapter on report writing has been greatly expanded, and is now called "Writing About Qualitative Research." Comprehensive and authoritative, Qualitative Data Analysis has been elegantly revised for a new generation of qualitative researchers.
Call Number: Print
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by John W. Creswell; Cheryl-Anne PothIn the Fourth Edition of this bestselling book, John W Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography and case study - putting them side by side, so that we can see the differences. They relate research designs to each of the traditions of enquiry and provide strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative and verifying results.
Call Number: Print. Van Pelt Library. H61 .C73 2018
Research design : qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches by John W. CreswellThis edition for sale in USA and Canada only. The book that has helped more than 150,000 students and researchers prepare their plan or proposal for a scholarly journal article, dissertation or thesis has been revised and updated while maintaining all the features that made the first edition so popular. New to this edition: · Because mixed method research has come into its own since the publication of the first edition, every chapter now shows how to implement a mixed method design in your proposal or plan as well as showing how to do the other two (qualitative and quantitative) approaches · Ethical issues that may arise in quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods designs have been added to a new section in Chapter 3 · Writing tips and considerations have been expanded and moved to the first part of the book to get your research plan started in the right direction · The latest developments in qualitative inquiry, including advocacy, participatory, and emancipatory approaches have been added to Chapter 10 · Mixed Method Procedures (Chapter 11) show readers how to identify the type of mixed method strategy, select the data collection and analysis approaches, and plan the overall structure of the study Examples, drawn from various disciplinary fields, are used throughout the book to deepen the readers understanding of the discussion. These include examples of studies with marginalized individuals in our society that reflect issues in social justice in addition to the traditional samples and populations studied by social researchers.
Call Number: Print. Van Pelt Library. H62 .C6963 2014
Publication Date: 4th edition. 2014
Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes by Robert M. Emerson; Rachel I. Fretz; Linda L. ShawIn Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes, Robert M. Emerson, Rachel I. Fretz, and Linda L. Shaw present a series of guidelines, suggestions, and practical advice for creating useful fieldnotes in a variety of settings, demystifying a process that is often assumed to be intuitive and impossible to teach. Using actual unfinished notes as examples, the authors illustrate options for composing, reviewing, and working fieldnotes into finished texts. They discuss different organizational and descriptive strategies and show how transforming direct observations into vivid descriptions results not simply from good memory but from learning to envision scenes as written. A good ethnographer, they demonstrate, must learn to remember dialogue and movement like an actor, to see colors and shapes like a painter, and to sense moods and rhythms like a poet. This new edition reflects the extensive feedback the authors have received from students and instructors since the first edition was published in 1995. As a result, they have updated the race, class, and gender section, created new sections on coding programs and revising first drafts, and provided new examples of working notes. An essential tool for budding social scientists, the second edition of Writing Ethnographic Fieldnotes will be invaluable for a new generation of researchers entering the field.
Research Design by Patricia LeavyThis user-friendly book provides a step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research. Chapters on each approach follow a unique format--they present a template for a research proposal and explain in detail how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Terminology commonly used within each approach is identified, and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice topics. Unique coverage includes hot topics: replication studies and data sharing, tailoring proposals to different audiences, and more. The book also includes a general introduction to social research; an in-depth, practical discussion of ethics; and a chapter on how to begin a research study, from planning a topic to developing a research question via a literature review. Pedagogical Features *Multiple "Review Stops" in each chapter--quick quizzes with answer keys. *End-of-chapter writing exercises, research activities, and suggested resources. *Bold-face key terms and an end-of-book glossary. *Boxed tips from experts in the respective approaches. *Supplemental PowerPoint slides for instructors using the book in a class. Winner (Third Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category