Reference works are an important source for concept definitions, overview articles, and short bibliographies. The Penn Libraries continues to acquire print and online reference works. These are accessible thorugh Franklin Catalog.
Search example: subject:leadership AND (handbook* OR encyclopedia* OR dictionar*)
Also, see the literature-review journals on this guide's "Literature Reviews" tab.
Gale Directory Library - Includes these Gale Reference Directories (select within the search interface)
For Statistical Sources, see these additional guides:
Foundation Directory - provides current, accurate, and comprehensive information on U.S. grantmakers and their grants, drawn from reliable sources, including IRS Form 990s, grantmaker web sites and annual reports, and the grantmakers themselves.
SPIN Database - (PennKey required). SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network) is a funding opportunity database that provides information on government and private funding sources in both the US and abroad. SPIN contains over 40,000 funding opportunities from more than 10,000 global sponsors. The University of Pennsylvania has subscribed to the SPIN database and provides access to all PennERA users.
GuideStar - Organization’s full address and contact information, Up to three years of Forms 990, Revenue and expense data for the current fiscal year, CEO, Board Chair, and Board of Directors information.
Grants.gov - Searchable database of funding opportunities available through federal grant-making agencies. Records include program scope, eligibility requirements, deadlines, and program director contact information.
National Science Foundation - Awards Search
National Endowment for the Humanities - Funded Projects Query Form
National Institutes of Health - Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools
Encyclopedia and dictionaries are great places to start research. Dictionaries will provide clear definitions and descriptions of a term or topic. A good encyclopedia article will outline major research theories and issues, and it describe consensus, controversy, and research fronts; it should also list important, classic, or controversial works that treat the article's topic.
International Encyclopedia of Education (4th ed) by 
Dictionary of Education by
The field of education is vitally important but it involves a specialized vocabulary and terminology which may be unfamiliar to those new to the discipline. The new Dictionary of Education provides clear and concise definitions for 1,250 terms that anyone studying education or involved in teaching is likely to encounter. Coverage includes all sectors of education: pre-school, primary, secondary, further and higher education, special needs, adult and continuing education, and work-based learning. It also includes major legislation, key figures and organizations, and national curriculum and assessment terminology. The dictionary features entry-level web links, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Education companion website. Detailed appendices include a timeline summary of landmark educational legislation since 1945 and a glossary of acronyms. In addition, there is a useful, fully cross-referenced section of comparative terms used in the US, the UK, Canada, Australia, and South Africa. This up-to-date and authoritative dictionary is essential for all students of education and teachers at every level, and it is strongly recommended for classroom assistants and parents.
International Education : An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems
Sage Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods in Education
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods in Education has brought together scholars from across the globe who use qualitative methods in their research to address the history, current uses, adaptations for specific knowledge domains and situations, and problematics that drive the methodology. The two-volume set is the most comprehensive resource available on qualitative methods in education. For novice researchers, these volumes enable a broad view of the methods and how to enact them in the studies that early-career researchers may wish to conduct. For the experienced researcher, the range of approaches and adaptations covered enables the development of sophisticated methodological designs. For those who are qualitative research methodologists, this book reveals where the methodology has come from and where it is going. Methodologists can use these volumes to discern where new ideas and practices are needed, and provide the bases for new methodological works. For those who teach these methods, the Encyclopedia is an invaluable compendium that can be tapped for inclusion in courses and to enable the instructor to be able to quickly respond to specific student needs with high-quality methodological resources.
Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy by 
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd ed.)
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
Encyclopedia of language and education. (3rd edition) by 
Encyclopedia of Language and Education (2nd edition) by 
Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics
A ground-breaking resource available either online or as a 10-volume print set bringing together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics Combines individual entries ranging from 1,500 to 4,000 words, with longer, essaystyle contributions giving a detailed overview of key developments and ideas Includes over 1,100 entries written by an international team of scholars from over 40 countries Covers 27 key areas of the field, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language, Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language Features over 200 entries on the philosophy and history of applied linguistics and biographies of key applied linguists Updates and new articles available twice a year, enabling the work to stay relevant and cutting-edge 10 Volumes www.encyclopediaofappliedlinguistics.com Updating
International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction
Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning
Over the past century, educational psychologists and researchers have posited many theories to explain how individuals learn, i.e. how they acquire, organize and deploy knowledge and skills. The 20th century can be considered the century of psychology on learning and related fields of interest (such as motivation, cognition, metacognition etc.) and it is fascinating to see the various mainstreams of learning, remembered and forgotten over the 20th century and note that basic assumptions of early theories survived several paradigm shifts of psychology and epistemology. Beyond folk psychology and its naïve theories of learning, psychological learning theories can be grouped into some basic categories, such as behaviorist learning theories, connectionist learning theories, cognitive learning theories, constructivist learning theories, and social learning theories. Learning theories are not limited to psychology and related fields of interest but rather we can find the topic of learning in various disciplines, such as philosophy and epistemology, education, information science, biology, and - as a result of the emergence of computer technologies - especially also in the field of computer sciences and artificial intelligence. As a consequence, machine learning struck a chord in the 1980s and became an important field of the learning sciences in general. As the learning sciences became more specialized and complex, the various fields of interest were widely spread and separated from each other; as a consequence, even presently, there is no comprehensive overview of the sciences of learning or the central theoretical concepts and vocabulary on which researchers rely. The Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative coverage of the specific terms mostly used in the sciences of learning and its related fields, including relevant areas of instruction, pedagogy, cognitive sciences, and especially machine learning and knowledge engineering. This modern compendium will be an indispensable source of information for scientists, educators, engineers, and technical staff active in all fields of learning. More specifically, the Encyclopedia provides fast access to the most relevant theoretical terms provides up-to-date, broad and authoritative coverage of the most important theories within the various fields of the learning sciences and adjacent sciences and communication technologies; supplies clear and precise explanations of the theoretical terms, cross-references to related entries and up-to-date references to important research and publications. The Encyclopedia also contains biographical entries of individuals who have substantially contributed to the sciences of learning; the entries are written by a distinguished panel of researchers in the various fields of the learning sciences.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Inclusive and Special Education
Throughout the world, there has been a significant shift in whether, where, and how learners are educated regardless of their socio-economic, geographic, and disability status; gender and sexual orientation; family structure; and ethnic, racial, cultural, linguistic and religious background.Recognizing that the debates, challenges, research, initiatives, and recommendations concerning the best ways to provide a high-quality education to learners with a range of diversities continue to influence educational policies and practices around the world, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Inclusiveand Special Education presents the contributions of a diverse international group of established and up-and-coming scholars who discuss an array of historical, current, and emerging issues that are at the intersection of inclusive and special schooling. While the Encyclopedia addresses inclusiveand special education, the primary focus is on inclusive education as an international and 21st century movement that in part reflects and rejects the foundations of special education. By presenting global perspectives addressing the foundations, effective practices, policies, and workforcepreparation initiatives related to inclusive and special education, these volumes examine a range of issues that are at the nexus of inclusive and special schooling.
Encyclopedia of Special Education (4th ed.)
The only encyclopedia or comprehensive reference devoted to special education Editors-In-Chief and Contributing Editors are leading researchers and scholars in the field New edition includes over 200 more entries than previous edition, with increased attention given to those topics that have grown in importance since the publication of the third edition, such as technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and Response to Intervention, Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS), Autism and Applied Behavior Analysis. In addition, the entries will be updated to cover the latest editions of the assessment instruments frequently administered in special education settings Includes an international list of authors and descriptions of special education in 35 countries Includes technology and legal updates to reflect a rapidly changing environment 4 Volumes http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/book/10.1002/9781118660584
Encyclopedia of Clinical Psychology by
"Recommended. Undergraduates through faculty/researchers; professionals/practitioners;general readers." - Choice Includes well over 500 A-Z entries of between 500 and 7,500 words in length covering the main topics, key concepts, and influential figures in the field of clinical psychology Serves as a comprehensive reference with emphasis on philosophical and historical issues, cultural considerations, and conflicts Offers a historiographical overview of the ways in which research influences practice Cites the best and most up-to-date scientific evidence for each topic, encouraging readers to think critically 5 Volumes www.encyclopediaclinicalpsychology.com
Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural Psychology by
The Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural Psychology presents a comprehensive collection of information relating to the fields of cross-cultural, cultural, and indigenous psychology contributed by scientists and scholars from around the world. Over 600 entries, including biographies of 135 key people from the fields of cross-cultural, cultural, and indigenous psychology Contains a general chronological timeline including both historical and literary key-moments Includes coverage on ethnocentrism; distortions of diagnostic judgment; psychology of Arabs, Russians, Filipinos, and other ethnicities; obedience; and more 3 Volumes www.crossculturalencyclopedia.com
Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education
The general public often views early childhood education as either simply "babysitting" or as preparation for later learning. Of course, both viewpoints are simplistic. Deep understanding of child development, best educational practices based on development, emergent curriculum, cultural competence and applications of family systems are necessary for high-quality early education. Highly effective early childhood education is rare in that it requires collaboration and transitions among a variety of systems for children from birth through eight years of age. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education presents in three comprehensive volumes advanced research, accurate practical applications of research, historical foundations and key facts from the field of contemporary early childhood education. Through approximately 450 entries, this work includes all areas of child development - physical, cognitive, language, social, emotional, aesthetic - as well as comprehensive review of best educational practices with young children, effective preparation for early childhood professionals and policy making practices, and addresses such questions as: · How is the field of early childhood education defined? · What are the roots of this field of study? · How is the history of early childhood education similar to yet different from the study of public education? · What are the major influences on understandings of best practices in early childhood education?
Encyclopedia of Middle Grades Education (2nd ed.)
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education (4th ed.) by
With over 600 signed entries, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education demonstrates the impact higher education has had on global economies and universities across the world. Topics include:* students burdened with higher tuition fees* departments expected to produce courses and research that have clear and demonstrable social impact* what the university is and how it meets social and business requirementsThis encyclopedia touches on all aspects of higher education through: * key concepts* debates* approaches * schools of thought on higher education* role of universitiesAs an interdisciplinary field, these volumes will prove to be an essential resource for students and researchers in education, sociology, politics and other related fields across the humanities and social science disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education
In light of the significance that education law occupies in the professional lives of educators, it is only natural that it plays a major role in educational leadership programs devoted to preparing leaders for both the world of higher education and K-12 schools. The centrality of education law is reflected in a study conducted on behalf of the University Council for Educational Administration revealing that education law is the second-most commonly taught subject in educational leadership programs. Further, with many universities offering a variety of courses on education law at all levels, it continues to occupy a crucial element in the curricula for educators. Despite its importance, there is a surprising dearth of readily accessible reference materials for academicians and practitioners. Thus, the Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education fills a gap that will be of use to those in the world of higher education, whether students, faculty members, administrators, or attorneys.
Historically Black Colleges and Universities : An Encyclopedia by
This exhaustive analysis of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) throughout history discusses the institutions and the major events, individuals, and organizations that have contributed to their existence. * A complete timeline of events extending from the founding of the first HBCU in 1837 through the 21st century * Photographs of HBCUs and key figures in their histories over a 150-year period * Presidential executive orders and transcripts of major legislation that have impacted HBCUs * An exhaustive list of over 1,000 prominent alumni of HBCUs and short, professional biographies of each * Biographical information on major figures and organizations that have supported HBCUs * A bibliography, including online resources and DVDs
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Out-Of-School Learning
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Out-of-School Learning documents what the best research has revealed about out-of-school learning: what facilitates or hampers it, where it takes place most effectively, how we can encourage it to develop talents and strengthen communities, and why it matters.Key features include: Approximately 260 articles organized A-to-Z in 2 volumes available in a choice of electronic or print formats Signed articles, specially commissioned for this work and authored by key figures in the field, conclude with Cross-References and Further Readings to guide students to the next step in a research journey Reader's Guide groups related articles within broad, thematic areas to make it easy for readers to spot additional relevant articles at a glance detailed Index, the Reader's Guide, and Cross-References combine for search-and-browse in the electronic version Resource Guide points to classic books, journals, and websites, including those of key associations This title will be available on SAGE Knowledge, the ultimate social sciences library
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education by
With 695 signed entries with cross-references and recommended readings, the Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education, Four-Volume Set, in both print and electronic formats, presents research and statistics, case studies and best practices, policies and programs at pre- and post-secondary levels. Diversity is a worldwide phenomenon, and while most of the entries in the Encyclopedia will focus on the United States, diversity issues and developments in nations around the world, including the United States, are intricately connected. Consequently, to illuminate the many aspects of diversity, this volume will contain entries from different nations in the world in order to illuminate the myriad aspects of diversity. From A-to-Z, this Encyclopedia will cover the full spectrum of diversity issues, including race, class, gender, religion, language, exceptionality and the global dimensions of diversity as they relate to education. There will also be an appendix consisting of a chronology of significant events related to diversity. This four-volume reference work is the definitive reference for diversity issues in education in the around the world. Key Themes Concepts, Theories and Definitions of Diversity Demographics and the Changing American Landscape Racial and Ethnic Diversity Gender and Sexual Orientation Socioeconomic Status Language, Culture and Linguistic Diversity Exceptionality Religion in Society and Schools Immigration, Migration and National Identity Standardized Testing and Culturally Responsive Assessment Alternative Educational Models Curriculum Issues and Pedagogies of Diversity Faculty, Teacher and Administrator Training Diversity in Primary and Secondary Education Diversity in Post-Secondary Education Affirmative Action Merit-Based Admission, Equity and Opportunity Law, Politics and Public Policy School, Family and Community Issues
Encyclopedia of African American Education
The Encyclopedia of African American Education covers educational institutions at every level, from preschool through graduate and professional training, with special attention to historically black and predominantly black colleges and universities. Other entries cover individuals, organizations, associations, and publications that have had a significant impact on African American education. The Encyclopedia also presents information on public policy affecting the education of African Americans, including both court decisions and legislation. It includes a discussion of curriculum, concepts, theories, and alternative models of education, and addresses the topics of gender and sexual orientation, religion, and the media. The Encyclopedia also includes a Reader′s Guide, provided to help readers find entries on related topics. It classifies entries in sixteen categories: " Alternative Educational Models " Associations and Organizations " Biographies " Collegiate Education " Curriculum " Economics " Gender " Graduate and Professional Education " Historically Black Colleges and Universities " Legal Cases " Pre-Collegiate Education " Psychology and Human Development " Public Policy " Publications " Religious Institutions " Segregation/Desegregation. Some entries appear in more than one category. This two-volume reference work will be an invaluable resource not only for educators and students but for all readers who seek an understanding of African American education both historically and in the 21st century.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies by
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. Edited by a first rate team of geographically diverse scholars drawn from disciplines across the social sciences and humanities with international reputations in the field Entries are written in an approachable and accessible manner and include a short bibliography and a list of cross-references Unique in its interdisciplinary approach across allied social sciences including sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, economics, literary studies, politics, history, and psychology as well as the fields of women's, gender and sexuality studies Attention paid to the identification and inclusion of feminist activism, regional and national diversity, international context, social policy, economics, non-governmental organizations and key term 5 Volumes www.genderandsexualityencyclopedia.com
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies
The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator. The study of curriculum, beginning in the early 20th century, served primarily the areas of school administration and teaching and was seen as a method to design and develop programs of study. The field subsequently expanded to draw upon disciplines from the arts, humanities, and social sciences and to examine larger educational forces and their effects upon the individual, society, and conceptions of knowledge. Curriculum studies has now emerged to embrace an expansive and contested conception of academic scholarship while focusing upon a diverse and complex dynamic among educational experiences, practices, settings, actions, and theories in relation to personal and institutional needs and interests. The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies serves to inform and to introduce terms, events, documents, biographies, and concepts to assist the reader in understanding aspects of this rapidly changing field of study. Representative topics include: Origins, definitions, dimensions, and variations on Curriculum Studies Curriculum development and design for schools Curricular purpose, implementation, and evaluation Contemporary issues, e.g., standards, tests, and accountability Curricular dimensions of teaching and teacher education Interdisciplinary perspectives on institutionalized curriculum Informal curricula of homes, mass media, workplaces, organizations, and relationships Impact of race, class, gender, health, belief, appearance, place, ethnicity, language Relationships of curriculum and poverty, wealth, and related factors Modes of curriculum inquiry and research Curriculum as cultural studies, exploring the formation of identities and possibilities Corporate, state, church, and military influence as curriculum Global and international perspectives on curriculum Curriculum organizations, journals, and resources Summaries of books and articles on curriculum studies Biographic vignettes of key persons in curriculum studies Relevant photographs
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom Management
A teacher's ability to manage the classroom strongly influences the quality of teaching and learning that can be accomplished. Among the most pressing concerns for inexperienced teachers is classroom management, a concern of equal importance to the general public in light of behaviour problems and breakdowns in discipline that grab newspaper headlines. But classroom management is not just about problems and what to do when things go wrong and chaos erupts. It's about how to run a classroom so as to elicit the best from even the most courteous group of students. An array of skills is needed to produce such a learning environment. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom Management raises issues and introduces evidence-based, real-world strategies for creating and maintaining well-managed classrooms where learning thrives. Students studying to become teachers will need to develop their own classroom management strategies consistent with their own philosophies of teaching and learning. It is hoped that this work will help open their eyes to the range of issues and the array of skills they might integrate into their unique teaching styles.Key Features: 325 signed entries organized in A-to-Z fashion across two volumes Reader′s Guide grouping related entries thematically References/Further Readings and Cross-References sections Chronology in the back matter Resource Guide in the appendix This Encyclopedia is an excellent scholarly source for students who are pursuing a degree or position in the field of education. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom Management is an ideal source for all academic and public libraries.
Encyclopedia of Education Economics and FinanceEncyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Technology
Leveraging the power of technology to support teaching and learning is certainly not new. But with more low-cost, easy-to-use, easily accessible devices and systems than ever before, we are at a critical inflection point where we must decide how technology powers and aids learning in the classroom. But is new technology the cure-all all? Some studies have shown students retain information better in traditional print formats. There's no question about the potential for new technologies to improve learning, but it's all in how it's approached, adapted, and used toward the service of achieving real gains in student performance. It's issues like this that are explored within the pages of this new Encyclopedia. To maximize shelf life, the editor and authors strove to focus on core topics and issues that will retain relevance in the face of perpetually evolving devices, services and specific techniques.Features include: A collection of 300-350 entries that are organized in A-to-Z fashion in two volumes available in a choice of print or electronic formats. Entries, authored by key figures in the field, conclude with cross references and further readings. Although organized A-to-Z, a Reader's Guide groups related articles within broad, thematic areas. A detailed Index, the Reader's Guide themes, and Cross References combine for search-and-browse in the electronic version.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education
Online education, both by for-profit institutions and within traditional universities, has seen recent tremendous growth and appeal - but online education has many aspects that are not well understood. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education provides a thorough and engaging reference on all aspects of this field, from the theoretical dimensions of teaching online to the technological aspects of implementing online courses--with a central focus on the effective education of students. Key topics explored through nearly 400 entries include: · Technology used in the online classroom · Institutions that have contributed to the growth of online education · Pedagogical basis and strategies of online education · Effectiveness and assessment · Different types of online education and best practices · The changing role of online education in the global education system
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Delinquency and JusticeHandbooks are edited works, gathering chapters around a topic. A good handbook chapter will be journal article-length or longer, it will be more discursive than an encyclopedia article, and it will offer a rich bibliography for further reading.
Collaborative Learning Techniques: A Handbook for College Faculty by The Handbook of Educational Theories by 
Handbook of Qualitative Research in Education by 
Handbook of Ethical Educational Leadership by 
Routledge International Handbook of Innovation Education by 
Handbook of the Cultural Foundations of Learning
Edited by a diverse group of expert collaborators, the Handbook of the Cultural Foundations of Learning is a landmark volume that brings together cutting-edge research examining learning as entailing inherently cultural processes. Conceptualizing culture as both a set of social practices and connected to learner identities, the chapters synthesize contemporary research in elaborating a new vision of the cultural nature of learning, moving beyond summary to reshape the field toward studies that situate culture in the learning sciences alongside equity of educational processes and outcomes. With the recent increased focus on culture and equity within the educational research community, this volume presents a comprehensive, innovative treatment of what has become one of the field's most timely and relevant topics.
Handbook of Urban Education by 
Handbook of Social Justice in Education by
The Handbook of Social Justice in Education,a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the field, addresses, from multiple perspectives, education theory, research, and practice in historical and ideological context, with an emphasis on social movements for justice. Each of the nine sections explores a primary theme of social justice and education: Historical and Theoretical Perspectives International Perspectives on Social Justice in Education Race and Ethnicity, Language and Identity: Seeking Social Justice in Education Gender, Sexuality and Social Justice in Education Bodies, Disability and the Fight for Social Justice in Education Youth and Social Justice in Education Globalization: Local and World Issues in Education The Politics of Social Justice Meets Practice: Teacher Education and School Change Classrooms, Pedagogy, and Practicing Justice. Timely and essential, this is a must-have volume for researchers, professionals, and students across the fields of educational foundations, multicultural/diversity education, educational policy, and curriculum and instruction.
Routledge International Handbook of Critical Education
The Routledge International Handbook of Critical Educationis the first authoritative reference work to provide an international analysis of the relationship between power, knowledge, education, and schooling. Rather than focusing solely on questions of how we teach efficiently and effectively, contributors to this volume push further to also think critically about education's relationship to economic, political, and cultural power. The various sections of this book integrate into their analyses the conceptual, political, pedagogic, and practical histories, tensions, and resources that have established critical education as one of the most vital and growing movements within the field of education, including topics such as: social movements and pedagogic work critical research methods for critical education the politics of practice and the recreation of theory the freirian legacy. With a comprehensive introduction by Michael W. Apple, Wayne Au, and Luis Armando Gandin, along with thirty-five newly-commissioned pieces by some of the most prestigious education scholars in the world, this Handbookprovides the definitive statement on the state of critical education and on its possibilities for the future.
Handbook of Critical Race Theory in Education by
This handbook illustrates how education scholars employ Critical Race Theory (CRT) as a framework to bring attention to issues of race and racism in education. It is the first authoritative reference work to provide a truly comprehensive description and analysis of the topic, from the defining conceptual principles of CRT in the Law that gave shape to its radical underpinnings to the political and social implications of the field today. It is divided into three sections, covering innovations in educational research, policy and practice in both schools and in higher education, and the increasing interdisciplinary nature of critical race research. With 28 newly commissioned pieces written by the most renowned scholars in the field, this handbook provides the definitive statement on the state of critical race theory in education and on its possibilities for the future.
International Handbook of Progressive Education by
The International Handbook of Progressive Education engages contemporary debates about the purpose of education, presenting diverse ideas developed within a broadly conceived progressive education movement. It calls for a more critical and dynamic conception of education goals as a necessary element of a healthy society. The scope is global, with contributing authors and examples from around the world. The sweep includes past, present, and future. Even for those who lament its failures, progressive education still seems to be asking the right questions. There is a vision, the progressive impulse, which goes beyond educational practice per se to include inquiry into a conception of the good life for both individuals and society. Because progressivists tend to dispute the status quo and the extent to which it nurtures that good life, there is an underlying critical edge to progressive thinking, one that has sharpened in recent progressive education discourse. The handbook's inquiry into progressive education starts with a number of intriguing and difficult questions: How has progressive education fared in different contexts? How do progressive methods relate to ideas of constructivist, discovery, problem-based, experiential, and inquiry-based teaching? And do they «work»? If progressive education offers an important alternative, why has it often been ignored, abandoned, or suppressed? What is the relevance of its tenets, methods, and questions in the new information age and in a world facing global changes in environment, politics, religion, language, and every other aspect of society?
International handbook of mathematics teacher education. 2nd ed.
Handbook of Design in Educational Technology by 
International handbook of computer-supported collaborative learning by 
Handbook of Research on Gaming Trends in P-12 Education by 
Handbook of Educational Psychology (3rd ed.)
APA Educational Psychology Handbook
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science, Cognitive Processes by 
Handbook of Student Engagement Interventions
Handbook of Student Engagement Interventions: Working with Disengaged Students provides an understanding of the factors that contribute to student disengagement, methods for identifying students at risk, and intervention strategies to increase student engagement. With a focus on translating research into best practice, the book pulls together the current research on engagement in schools and empowers readers to craft and implement interventions. Users will find reviews on evidence-based academic, behavioral, social, mental health, and community-based interventions that will help increase all types of engagement. The book looks at ways of reducing suspensions through alternative disciplinary practices, the role resiliency can play in student engagement, strategies for community and school collaborations in addressing barriers to engagement, and what can be learned from students who struggled in school, but succeeded later in life. It is a hands-on resource for educators, school psychologists, researchers, and students looking to gain insight into the research on this topic and the strategies that can be deployed to promote student engagement. Presents practical strategies for engagement intervention and assessment Covers early warning signs of disengagement and how to use these signs to promote engagement Reviews contextual factors (families, peers, teachers) related to engagement Focuses on increasing engagement and school completion for all students Emphasizes multidimensional approaches to disengagement
International Handbook of Emotions in Education by 
Handbook of Mindfulness in Education by
This handbook addresses the educational uses of mindfulness in schools. It summarizes the state of the science and describes current and emerging applications and challenges throughout the field. It explores mindfulness concepts in scientific, theoretical, and practical terms and examines training opportunities both as an aspect of teachers' professional development and a means to enhance students' social-emotional and academic skills. Chapters discuss mindfulness and contemplative pedagogy programs that have produced positive student outcomes, including stress relief, self-care, and improved classroom and institutional engagement. Featured topics include: A comprehensive view of mindfulness in the modern era. Contemplative education and the roots of resilience. Mindfulness practice and its effect on students' social-emotional learning. A cognitive neuroscience perspective on mindfulness in education that addresses students' academic and social skills development. Mindfulness training for teachers and administrators. Two universal mindfulness education programs for elementary and middle school students. The Handbook of Mindfulness in Education is a must-have resource for researchers, graduate students, clinicians, and practitioners in psychology, psychiatry, education, and medicine, as well as counseling, social work, and rehabilitation therapy.
Handbook of Moral and Character Education by 
Handbook of positive psychology in schools (2nd ed)
International Handbook on Early Childhood Education by 
Handbook of Research-Based Practice in Early Education by Handbook of Early Childhood Teacher Education by
This handbook synthesizes both contemporary research and best practices in early childhood teacher education, a unique segment of teacher education defined by its focus on child development, the role of the family, and support for all learners. The first volume of its kind, the Handbook of Early Childhood Teacher Education provides comprehensive coverage on key topics in the field, including the history of early childhood teacher education programs, models for preparing early childhood educators, pedagogical approaches to supporting diverse learners, and contemporary influences on this quickly expanding area of study. Appropriate for early childhood teacher educators as well as both pre- and in-service teachers working with children from birth through 8, this handbook articulates the unique features of early childhood teacher education, highlighting the strengths and limitations of current practice as based in empirical research. It concludes by charting future directions for research with an aim to improve the preparation of early childhood educators.
Handbook on Measurement, Assessment, and Evaluation in Higher Education by
Increased demands for colleges and universities to engage in outcomes assessment for accountability purposes have accelerated the need to bridge the gap between higher education practice and the fields of measurement, assessment, and evaluation. The Handbook on Measurement, Assessment, and Evaluation in Higher Educationprovides higher education administrators, student affairs personnel, institutional researchers who generate and analyze data, and faculty with an integrated handbook of theory, method, and application. This valuable resource brings together applied terminology, analytical perspectives, and methodological advances from the fields of measurement, assessment, and evaluation to facilitate informed decision-making in higher education. Special Features: Contributing Authors are world-renowned scholars across the fields of measurement, assessment, and evaluation, including: Robert E. Stake, Trudy W. Banta, Michael J. Kolen, Noreen M. Webb, Kurt Geisinger, Robert J. Mislevy, Ronald K. Hambleton, Rebecca Zwick, John Creswell, and Margaret D. LeCompte. Depth of Coverage includes classroom assessment and student outcomes; assessment techniques for accountability and accreditation; test theory, item response theory, validity and reliability; qualitative, quantitative and mixed-methods evaluation; context and ethics of assessment. Questions and Exercises follow each Section to reinforce the valuable concepts and insights presented in the preceding chapters. Bridging the gap between practice in higher education with advances in measurement, assessment, and evaluation, this book enables educational decision-makers to engage in more sound professional judgment. This handbook provides higher education administrators with both high-level and detailed views into contemporary theories and practices, supplemented with guidance on how to apply them for the benefit of students and institutions.
The Oxford Handbook of Higher Education Systems and University Management
The world's systems of higher education (HE) are caught up in the fourth industrial revolution of the twenty-first century. Driven by increased globalization, demographic expansion in demand for education, new information and communications technology, and changing cost structures influencing societal expectations and control, higher education systems across the globe are adapting to the pressures of this new industrial environment. To make sense of the complex changes in the practices and structures of higher education, this Handbook sets out a theoretical framework to explain what higher education systems are, how they may be compared over time, and why comparisons are important in terms of societal progress in an increasingly interconnected world. Drawing on insights from over 40 leading international scholars and practitioners, the chapters examine the main challenges facing institutions of higher education, how they should be managed in changing conditions, and the societal implications of different approaches to change. Structured around the premise that higher education plays a significant role in ensuring that a society achieves the capacity to adjust itself to change, while at the same time remaining cohesive as a social system, this Handbook explores how current internal and external forces disturb this balance, and how institutions of higher education could, and might, respond.
Handbook of Research on the Changing Role of College and University Leadership
Higher education has changed significantly over the past 50 years, and the individuals who provide leadership for these institutions has similarly changed. The pathway to the college presidency, once the domain of academic administration, has diversified as an increasing number of development officers, student affairs and enrollment management professionals, and even politicians have become common in the role. It is important to understand who the presidents are in the current environment and the challenges they face. Challenges such as dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic, enrollment shortfalls, Title IX, and athletic scandals have risen to the forefront and have contributed to the issues and role of college and university leadership. The Handbook of Research on the Changing Role of College and University Leadership provides important research on the topic of college and university leadership, especially focusing on the changing role of the college president. The chapters discuss college leadership as it is now and how it will evolve into the future. Topics included are the role of the president at various types of universities, their involvement within university functions and activities, and the duties they must carry out and challenges they face. This book is ideal for professionals and researchers working in higher education, including faculty members who specialize in education, public administration, the social sciences, and management, along with teachers, administrators, teacher educators, practitioners, researchers, academicians, and students who are interested in college and university leadership and how this role is transforming.
The Wiley Handbook of Gender Equity in Higher Education
Research into gender equity in higher education, inspiring action With this enlightening handbook, you can review the thinking of leading researchers on the current intersection of gender and higher education. The Wiley Handbook of Gender Equity in Higher Education provides an in-depth look at education's complicated relationships with, and in some cases inadequate fostering of, gender equity. The collection offers a bold picture of research into the subject. It also projects future paths of exploration, inquiry, and action for gender equity. Focuses specifically on gender and higher education across the globe, setting the stage for new explorations Examines gender equity in relation to the STEM fields Considers current male participation in higher education Covers gender segregation by major and the issue of women remaining in lower-paying areas The Wiley Handbook of Gender Equity in Higher Education spotlights the continuing and integral role of educational institutions in the struggle for gender equity. Policy makers, university administrators, and researchers can look to this handbook for perspective on recent research as they move forward in the pursuit of more equitable educational environments.
Business Practices in Higher Education
The new edition of Business Practices in Higher Education helps readers understand the true nature of higher education and appreciate how the academy effectively incorporates business practices into everyday work lives. The authors apply business concepts and models and explain how they can be leveraged to improve the overall efficiency and effectiveness of higher education institutions. Useful examples from a wide range of institutions--including small private college, large public universities, and community colleges--address macro-level higher education and student population issues, while also addressing micro-level issues for individual institutions or students. Business practices are critical to the academic, student affairs, and administrative sides of higher education. This book offers aspiring higher education and student affairs professionals an understanding of the fundamental business practices of colleges and universities. New in this edition: Updated coverage of current practice and research New chapters on accounting, strategic planning, and fundraising End-of-chapter questions for discussion
