Books at Penn, use:
Books at other libraries, use:
WorldCat - A union catalog of the holdings of libraries in the U.S. and worldwid
Scholarly journal articles, use these article databases:
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) - Education
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) - Language and linguistics
Franklin Articles - Multidisciplinary journals
TESOL encyclopedia of English language teaching
Alternative Approaches to Second Language Acquisition by 
English Language Learners at School by
A practical handbook for administrators of schools serving English language learners; experts answer administrators' questions with 72 research-based responses on policy and accountability, parents and community, learning in two languages, program development, implementation and evaluation, classroom instruction and assesment, professional development, and advocacy; includes self-surveys to guide program implementation.
Expertise in Second Language Teaching and Learning by 
Exploring Language Pedagogy Through Second Language Acquisition Research by 
Global Englishes for Language Teaching by
The spread of English as a global language has resulted in the emergence of a number of related fields of research within applied linguistics, including English as an International Language, English as a Lingua Franca, and World Englishes. Here, Heath Rose and Nicola Galloway consolidate this work by exploring how the global spread of English has impacted TESOL, uniting similar movements in second language acquisition, such as translanguaging and the multilingual turn. They build on a number of concrete proposals for change and innovation in English language teaching practice, whilst offering a detailed examination of how to incorporate a Global Englishes perspective into the multiple faces of TESOL, putting research-informed practice at the forefront. Global Englishes for Language Teaching is a ground-breaking attempt to unite discussions on the pedagogical implications of the global spread of English into a single text for researchers and practicing teachers.
Handbook of Multilingual TESOL in Practice by
This book presents exemplars of multilingualism in TESOL worldwide. It incorporates essential topics such as curriculum development, classroom instruction, materials creation, assessment, and teacher training where TESOL and multilingualism co-exist and co-develop. The wide-ranging and international collection of chapters is written by leading researchers in multilingualism and TESOL from around the world. This handbook provides unique insights into a range of practical approaches to promote local, indigenous and national languages in English language classrooms across a range of instructional programs in various geographical contexts.
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning by
The Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching and Learning is intended for researchers, practitioners, graduate students, and faculty in teacher education and applied linguistics programs; teachers; teacher trainers; teacher trainees; curriculum and material developers; and all other professionals in the field of second language teaching and learning.
Handbook of Second Language Assessment by 
Improving Learner Reflection for Tesol by
Presenting comprehensive research conducted with learners and educators in a range of settings, this volume showcases self-reflection as a powerful tool to enhance student learning. The text builds on empirical insights to illustrate how language professionals can foster critical self-reflection amongst learners of English as an additional language.
Intercultural Language Teaching and Learning by 
Practice of English language teaching by 
Qualitative Inquiry in TESOL by
Graduate and professional TESOL students will welcome this research methods textbook for undertaking qualitative, naturalistic and action research projects. Uniquely, the book offers a three-level structured progression, suited both to novice and intermediate students with a focus on development as classroom teachers of English, and to advanced students engaged in academic research work in applied linguistics. Every chapter is structured to develop the important skills for undertaking QI in a rigorous and serious way, at whatever level is appropriate for the reader's purpose. The book is both scholarly in approach and written in an engagingly direct and clear style.
Race, Empire, and English Language Teaching by 
Teaching Academic ESL Writing by
Teaching Academic ESL Writing: Practical Techniques in Vocabulary and Grammar fills an important gap in teacher professional preparation by focusing on the grammatical and lexical features that are essential for all ESL writing teachers and student-writers to know. The fundamental assumption is that before students of English for academic purposes can begin to successfully produce academic writing, they must have the foundations of language in place--the language tools (grammar and vocabulary) they need to build a text. This text offers a compendium of techniques for teaching writing, grammar, and lexis to second-language learners that will help teachers effectively target specific problem areas of students' writing. Based on the findings of current research, including a large-scale study of close to 1,500 non-native speakers' essays, this book works with several sets of simple rules that collectively can make a noticeable and important difference in the quality of ESL students' writing. The teaching strategies and techniques are based on a highly practical principle for efficiently and successfully maximizing learners' language gains. Part I provides the background for the text and a sample of course curriculum guidelines to meet the learning needs of second-language teachers of writing and second-language writers. Parts II and III include the key elements of classroom teaching: what to teach and why, possible ways to teach the material in the classroom, common errors found in student prose and ways to teach students to avoid them, teaching activities and suggestions, and questions for discussion in a teacher-training course. Appendices to chapters provide supplementary word and phrase lists, collocations, sentence chunks, and diagrams that teachers can use as needed. The book is designed as a text for courses that prepare teachers to work with post-secondary EAP students and as a professional resource for teachers of students in EAP courses.
Teaching and Researching Listening by 
Translanguaging by
Winner of the British Association of Applied Linguistics Book Prize 2014 This book addresses how the new linguistic concept of 'Translanguaging' has contributed to our understandings of language, bilingualism and education, with potential to transform not only semiotic systems and speaker subjectivities, but also social structures.
Understanding Language Teaching by
Understanding Language Teaching encourages teachers to reflect on their classroom practice by thinking critically about their own teaching, their colleagues' teaching, and the environments where they work.
Use the BrowZine Web Interface and/or get the BrowZine App.
Browse recent issues of scholarly journals and create up to four bookshelves of up to sixteen titles. Browzine bundles journal titles by subject. These subject bundles address TESOL and applied linguistics:
BrowZine does not list all the journals to which Penn subscribes and only allows for searching of: journal title, ISSN, and broad subject categories.
