Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference works: Asian Americans
Use dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks to learn quickly about the state of research on your topic. A good encyclopedia article should describe major themes, current research fronts, and controversial areas; it should also provide a brief bibliography of classic, important, or definitive works on your topic. Handbooks generally offer chapters on specific aspects of a topic: together, the handbook's chapters should provide a broad overview of the state of research; individually, chapters may be narrowly focused.
Routledge handbook of Asian American studies (Routledge, 2017)
A broad collection of chapters highlighting contemporary research on shifting paradigms, war, colonialization, and US imperialism, globalization, global restructuring, and the question of national belongings, representations within and across nations, and social change and political participation.
Asian American society: an encyclopedia (SAGE, 2014)
Sponsored by the Association for Asian-American Studies. Half traditional encyclopedia covering social, cultural, psychological, economic, and political dimensions of the Asian American experience, half primary-source documents anthology, with video clips to illustrate some topis.
Asian American history and culture : an encyclopedia (ME Sharpe, 2010)
In print, Van Pelt Reference E184.A75 A8287 2010
Covers the arts, culture, community, education, family, gender, marriage, occupation, and work of more than twenty national-origin groups, both historically and in contemporary American society.
Asian Americans : An Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political History (Greenwood, 2014)
In print, Van Pelt Reference E184.A75 A842648 2014.
Particularly heavy on biographical entries. Includes a collection of primary-souce documents.
Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America. 3rd ed. (Gale, 2014)
Print only. Van Pelt Reference E184.A1 G14 2014.
Online: 2nd ed (Gale, 2000)
The successor to the Harvard encyclopedia
, articles on more than 150 ethnic groups, with sections on history, US settlement, culture and assimilation, family and community life, and more.
Encyclopedia of Japanese American history : an A-to-Z reference from 1868 to the present (Updated ed. Facts on File, 2001)
Print only. Van Pelt Reference E184.J3 E53 2001
Sponsored by the Japanese American National Museum. Includes a chapter, "One Hundred Titles: A Basic Library on Japanese Americans"
Encyclopedia of the Indian diaspora (Univ of Hawaii Press, 2006)
Print only. Van Pelt stacks: DS432.5 .E53 2006
One-quarter of this work is a historical overview of Indian migration worldwide and general cultural aspects of the diaspora community. The bulk of the book is devoted to articles on Indians living in more than 50 countries.
Reference Works: Religion
Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature
Bibliographies are lists of works organized around a topic, while guides to the literature are systematic introductions to the literature of a field.
Literature reviews are a handy way to get quickly into the scholarly literature. A typical literature-review article will provide a narrative that identifies and describes dozens of journal articles and books.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Religion
See especially "Buddhism in the West," "Hinduism in North America" and "Islam in North America."
Many of your course readings come from Ann Rev Sociol
1975-present. Ann Rev Sociol
articles are lengthy literature reviews with BIG bibliographies. Useful for both the text summary and the citations for further reading. The Annual Reviews
website includes other useful journals covering anthropology, psychology, law and economics, political science.
Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections