Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATLA--Religious Studies Article Database
ATLA Religion database with ATLASerials
The big religious studies database, produced by the American Theological Library Association. It includes searchable fulltext for some journals and popular magazines.
Subject headings available in ATLA include: Asian Americans, Asian American Churches, Asian Americans Identity. Some topics don't have applicable subject headings. For these rely on keyword searches such as: Hinduism United States
Ethnic news sources
Newspapers can be an excellent source of information on local ethnic events and issues, as well as providing perspectives on national topics. Newspaper databases are oriented toward fulltext searching, which can lead to overwhelming results. Aim for proper nouns (e.g., personal or organization names) and look for headline + lead paragraph field codes.
Full text, comprehensive archival database providing access to more than 400,000 articles in nearly 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines, and journals. Full text archive of Phila Tribune, Jewish Exponent , and nearly 200 other ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines, and journals -- both English and Spanish.
Newsbank Access World News
Searchable fulltext of international and U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers. Coverage for current issues (i.e., yesterday in most cases) with extensive backfiles. Business and Management, Communication, Education, Philadelphia Studies, Political Science, Public Policy and Administration, Science and Engineering, Social Sciences, Sociology, Urban Studies.
Indexes new, business, and legal resources.
Doctoral dissertations are book-length works of original research. (Some dissertations, typically in economics and demography, are collections of article-length research reports.) Dissertations are particularly useful for several reasons:
- They may cover current events, or they may address very recent scholarship practices, more quickly than journal articles or books.
- They may provide very detailed primary-source material (interview transcripts, text reproductions, expanded statistical treatments), methodological descriptions (questionnaires, interview protocols, event recording templates), and other useful supporting information typically omitted from journal articles or books.
- They include chapter-length literature reviews, as doctoral candidates are expected to situate their dissertation topic within the larger research community.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (aka UMI)
The comprehensive database of U.S. doctoral dissertations, recently expanded to cover foreign dissertations. For 1997-present, fulltext is often available. For older dissertations, fulltext is scarce - use ILL:Request Book
when fulltext is not available.HINT!
Search PQDT using "Anywhere except full text - ALL". PQDT is a fulltext database, and dissertations are book-length works. "ALL" will search titles and abstracts only.
Other Subject Specific databases
SocAbs - Sociological Abstracts
1952 to the present, via ProQuest.
The comprehensive bibliographic database for research in sociology and related disciplines worldwide. SocAbs recently absorbed Social Services Abstracts, expanding its coverage to social work and social policy.
IBSS - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Broader than SocAbs and larger too, covering sociology, economics, political science, and anthropology. May do a better job covering non-US populations.
Race Relations Abstracts
Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues and meets the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. FSSW is an anthology of four database files providing access to more than 1,182,000 records.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
All subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, South Asia, and Indian Ocean countries.
ERIC (Education Information Resource Center) - ProQuest
Indexes education-related journal articles and other publications. Cross-file search with other ProQuest databases.
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
Contemporary Women's Issues
This full-text database provides international coverage of current issues such as employment and the workplace, social & political issues, violence and exploitation, development and human rights, health and reproductive rights, legal issues, education, culture and customs, demographics, contemporary family life, and arts and media.
ISI Web of Science - the citation indexes
ISI Web of Science - also known as "The citation indexes", including Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index - is all about article bibliographies. As the database covers a wide range of subjects (it's strongest in the life sciences), your citation chasing will return broader results than similar tools in SocAbs.
Got an article you really like?
- Find it in ISI Web of Science.
- Look at its "Times Cited" link to see other more recent articles that have included it in their bibliographies.
- Look at its "Related Records" to see other articles that share references in their bibliographies.
As the database covers a wide range of subjects (it's strongest in the life sciences), your citation chasing will return broader results than similar tools in PsycINFO.
Got a methodology, tool, or technique you want to see applied to your topic?
- Consult an encyclopedia or handbook for the classic publication about that methodology.
- Do a "Topic search" in ISI Web of Science, the broader the better.
- Do a "Cited Reference search" in ISI Web of Science for the classic publication. (You're looking for the classic's citation in an article bibliography.)
- Use "Search History" to combine the two searches.
When in doubt, ask for help. Cited reference searching in ISI Web of Science can be tricky.