Guides: Archaeology of Indigenous North America: Supplementary Resources

Primary Sources and Archives

ArchivesCanada.ca
Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center
Cornell University Library Rare and Manuscript Collections: American Indian History and Culture
Early Encounters in North America
Contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
Lewis and Clark Expedition Journals
National Archives - Rights of Native Americans
Rocky Mountain Online Archive
The Rocky Mountain Online Archive (RMOA) is a source of information about archival collections in Colorado, New Mexico and Wyoming.
Native Northeast Portal
A collection of primary source documents on Native people of the Northeast United States.
Nation to Nation: Treaties Between the United States and American Indian Nations
Digitized primary source documents

Maps & Atlases

National Register of Historic Places
- Search the National Register of Historic Places by the National Park Service
NPR Tribal Nations Map
- A map of Canada and the continental United States showing the original locations and names of Native American tribes.
Native Land Digital
- Native Land is a tool that maps out Indigenous territories, treaties, and languages.
"Indian Land Areas Judicially Established 1978 and American Indian Reservations"
- A map of the continental United States showing judicially established areas and reservations

Tribal Connections
an interactive map published by the U.S. Forest Service for land cessions and treaties
First Nations Seeker

Web Resources

Society for Historical Archaeology - Abandoned Burial Grounds
Guide to the Indigenous Material at the American Philosophical Society
Guide to Native American Pottery of South Carolina
The Paleoindian Database of the Americas
American Indian Histories and Cultures
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection, University of Washington
The Louis Shotridge Digital Archive
Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
Bureau of Land Management Library
"The BLM Library collection includes a full range of land and natural resource management publications including wildlife, vegetation, soil, air, water, geology, minerals, archaeology, energy, landscape ecology, rangeland, and others."
National Park Service Subjects: Native American Heritage
LibraryThing Archaeology Reading List
by the Institute for American Indian Studies (IAIS)
The National Park Service and American Indians, Alaska Natives and Native Hawaiians
Excerpts and identified sections from Management Policies The Guide to Managing the National Park System (2006)

Films

Ethnographic Video Online
Streaming video of full length documentary and educational films. Some films include Study Guides with many of the titles and filmmaker bios and interviews. Browse by geography and cultural group or highlight sections of a map to find result sets. Searchable transcripts scroll with the films. From Alexander Street Press.

Films from our library collection:

American native / Phydo Films ; directed by Steven Oritt ; produced by Corey Bobker, Matt Ogens.

Call Number: DVD 027 355

Sacred buffalo people [videorecording] : [bison in the Plains Indian culture] / a project of the Red River Indian Association ; a production of Prairie Public Television ; produced by Deb Wallwork.

Call Number: DVD E78.G73 S23 2000z

Weaving worlds [videorecording] / written & directed by Bennie Klain ; produced by Leighton C. Peterson ; a co-production of TricksterFilms and the Independent Television Service in association with Native American Public Telecommunications.

Call Number: DVD E99.N3 W388 2008

Kennewick Man [electronic resource] : an epic drama of the West / Filmakers Library, Inc. presents ; a film by Kyle Carver and Ryan Purcell ; a Riverside Films production.

Connect to Resource

4-Butte-1 [videorecording] : a lesson in archaeology / produced by The University of California Extension Media Center and the Archaeological Survey, Department of Anthropology, U.C.L.A. ; directed by Tony Gorsline ; produced and written by Donald S. Miller, Peter Schnitzler.

Call Number: VHS CC76 .F68 1990z