Penn Museum respectfully acknowledges that it is situated on Lenapehoking, the ancestral and spiritual homeland of the Unami Lenape.
Some of the hyperlinked e-books and e-resources on this page are available only to active PennKey holders. If you are unable to access material from this page, learn more about visiting Penn Libraries locations to consult a print copy in person or check Worldcat.org to find a library that holds the same resources near you.
The Oxford Handbook of North American Archaeology by 
Archaeology As Human Ecology by
Archaeology as Human Ecology is a new introduction to concepts and methods in archaeology. It deals not with artifacts, but with sites, settlements, and subsistence. Karl W. Butzer's goal is to interpret the ecosystem of which an archaeologicial site or site network was part. Components of this study include geo-archaeology, archaeobotany, zoo-archaeology, and archaeometry. These methods are then used in examining interactions between human communities and their biophysical environment: the impact of settlement on site formation and the effects of subsistence activities on plants, animals, soils, and overall landscape modification. Finally, the methods and theoretical approach, are applied to examine the processes of cultural change and continuity. The approach of Archaeology as Human Ecology goes far beyond traditional environmental archaeology, which is concerned with simple reconstruction. It provides a clear, systemic approach that immediately allows an assessment of interactions. For the first time, it attempts to develop a comprehensive spatial archaeology - one that is far more than derivative spatial analysis.
Bridging the Divide by 
Decolonizing Indigenous Histories by 
Appropriated Pasts by
Archaeology has been complicit in the appropriation of indigenous peoples' pasts worldwide. While tales of blatant archaeological colonialism abound from the era of empire, the process also took more subtle and insidious forms. Ian McNiven and Lynette Rus
Being and Becoming Indigenous Archaeologists by 
The Future of the Past by
To date, the notion of repatriation has been formulated as a highly polarized debate with museums, archaeologists, and anthropologists on one side, and Native Americans on the other. This volume offers both a retrospective and a prospective look at the topic of repatriation. By juxtaposing the divergent views of native peoples, anthropologists, museum professionals, and members of the legal profession, it illustrates the complexity of the repatriation issue.
Sturtevant, William C, and U.S Geological Survey. National atlas. Indian tribes, cultures & languages: United States. Reston, Va.: Interior, Geological Survey, 1967. Map. Retrieved from the Library of Congress: www.loc.gov/item/95682185/
Anthropology Plus - An index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research.
AnthroSource - Please note that in order to use this resource you must first register with AnthroSource to then be connected to their index.
tDAR - This is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations.
JSTOR - A full text database the provides access to academic journals, books, and primary source materials (dates vary).
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America - A bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
Project MUSE - Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities and social sciences.
Native American Ethnobotany - A database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants.
eHRAF Archaeology - A cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
eHRAF World Cultures - A collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world.
E51-61 PreColumbian America
E71 North America (north of Mexico)
E73-74 Mound Builders. Indians of North America
E75-E77 (Periodicals, Collections, Dictionaries, Directories, Guide to Tribes, Study and Teaching, Research, Historiography, General Works)
E78 (By state, province, or region, A-Z)
E81-87 (Indian Wars and captivities)
E89-90 (Biography)
E91-93 (Government relations)
E95 Treaties
E96-97 (Education)
E98 (By special topic, A-Z) e.g., E98.A7 = Art; E98.E2 = Economic Conditions; E98.R3 = Religion, Mythology; E98. S Social life and customs; E98 .W8, Women
E99 (By tribe, A-Z) e.g., E99. C6 = Chippewa (Ojibway) Indians
K Law
