Guides: Researching and Locating Employment in Chemistry: Locating an Individual or Institution Researching in a Field of Interest

Using Scifinder

Scifinder
Scifinder searches two databases: Chemical Abstracts (1907-present) and MEDLINE (1956-present). Chemical Abstracts indexes more than 10,000 journals in the chemical sciences, as well as books, book chapters, patents, dissertations, reports, and reviews. MEDLINE indexes more than 5000 biomedical journals and includes such subjects as biochemistry, biophysics, medicine, biology, and related fields. Both databases employ thesauri, which interpret your query, map it to thesaurus entries, and retrieve all records relating to your topics. This makes it very easy to perform a directed search on a topic and identify researchers or institutions who research in that area.

1. Search by Research Topic, refining to the past ten years in order to get only those individuals or institutions who have been researching your topic recently.

2. Analyze your results by Author Name (for individuals) or Company/Organization (for institutions). The auto analyze feature in your search results will display the results in descending order, with the most prolific person or company at the top.

3. Click the link for the authors or institutions of interest, and click Get References to retrieve their references.

How to use Scifinder

Using Web of Science

Web of Science

Web of Science indexes 5900 journals in all areas of science and technology. It is updated weekly, and references link to all indexed items in their bibliographies, as well as to all items that cite them. The Web of Science is currently the only resource that you can use to do a comprehensive citation search; by searching for an author or a specific paper, you can retrieve the articles that reference that author or paper in their bibliographies.

1. Perform a General Search for your topic.

2. Refine search results to past 10 years.

3. Analyze your results by Author or Institution.

4. Choose the article most relevant to your interests, select cited records to view references.

How to use Web of Science