Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide is designed for students in Criminology 410: Senior Research Seminar: Experiments in Crime and Justice. It provides resources for preparing a literature review in criminology, as well as an introduction to resources available on campus for data collection and analysis.
Resources to Compare
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database includes abstracts of over 140,000 research reports, journal articles, and government documents relating to crime, law enforcement, and the justice system.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Abstracts of the scholarly literature and applied literature on criminology and related disciplines.
Abstracts from a huge collection of journals, in social sciences as well as natural sciences.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
Steps for Researching Your Literature Review
Find lit reviews others have written on the same topic or similar.
Don't reinvent the wheel if you don't have to. Finding a relevant literature review can lead to a trove of helpful citations. You can find this in a journal or a reference source.
Search an article database using the subject field and thesaurus.
Most article databases have special features that help you with precise, effective searching.
Trace a citation backward and forward.
The bibliography at the end of the article tells you whom the author cited. But the library provides databases that can also tell you who cited that author.
Keep track of what you've found.
Citation management software simplifies the process of collecting citations and creating bibliographies.
Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections
Subjects: African Studies
, Aging Studies
, Data & GIS
, Food Studies
, Health & Societies
, International Relations
, Philadelphia Studies
, Political Science
, Population Studies & Demography
, Public Policy & Administration
, Social Sciences
, Urban Studies