Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Penn Libraries criminology collection began with modern criminology itself, guided by Professor Thorsten Sellin and his successor Professor Marvin Wolfgang. Generously supported by the Lipman Criminology Library Fund since 1985 and benefiting from the 1996 donation of Dr Sellin's books and journals, the criminology collection continues as a strength of the Penn Libraries social sciences collections.
A good historical overview of the Penn's academic program is provided in "Criminology at the University of Pennsylvania", in The Origins of American Criminology / Francis T Cullen et al., eds. (Advances in Criminological Theory vol. 16 (2011): 159-220.
Recent Publications from Penn Criminology Faculty
NewBooks+ @ Penn Libraries: Criminology
Reference works make excellent starting points for research; they provide concise articles on key topics by scholars of the field, often accompanied by suggestions for further reading. The sources listed below are print volumes shelved in the Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks, on the first floor of Van Pelt, unless otherwise noted.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by
Publication Date: 2014
A mammoth 10-volume work. Although in a difficult-to-use interface, this provides international perspective on corrections and criminal justice supervision in the community; courts, sentencing and the judicial system; crimes, criminals and victims; crime places and situations; explanations for criminal behaviour; forensic science; data, methods and statistics; police and law enforcement; psychology of law; and social interventions and prevention.
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by
Publication Date: 2014
5-volume work with over 500 entries spanning 15 substantive areas within criminology and criminal justice, including criminal law, juvenile justice, education and professionalism, history of crime, and victimization.
The Oxford Handbook of Criminology (6th ed.) by
Call Number: HV6025 .O87 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Chapters detail relevant theory, recent research, policy developments, and current debates. Extensive references aid further research. Extensively revised, the sixth edition has been expanded to include all the major topics and significant new issues such as zemiology; green criminology; domestic violence; prostitution and sex work; penal populism; and the significance of globalization for criminology. Earlier editions (starting in 1994) are also available. Also see focused volumes in Oxford Handbooks Online : Criminology & Criminal Justice
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Criminology
Bibliographic essays with annotations for individual entries, covering corrections, courts & sentencing, crime prevention, criminal behavior, criminologists and criminological theories, environmental criminology, international & comparative criminology, juvenile delinquency & justice, organizational & white-collar crime, policing, public responses to crime, research methods & measurement, victimology, and race, gender, and ethnicity & crime.
Understanding Criminological Research : a guide to data analysis by
Publication Date: 2013
Covers formulating a research area, topic, and literature review; project planning and research design, methods, and management issues, including making contacts, gaining access, getting ethical approval, and timetabling; approaches to the analysis of narrative and numeric data (grounded theory, narrative, discourse, univariate, and bivariate analysis); and writing a project report.
The Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2020
The most comprehensive and up-to-date reference on contemporary, historical, and global concerns about women, crime, and criminal justice.
Prisons and Prison Systems by
Call Number: HV8665 .R67 2006 Van Pelt Reference Stacks
Publication Date: 2005
Historical overview of institutions and systems around the world, as well as penal theories, prisoner culture and life, and notable prisoners and personnel.
Publication Date: 2011
Looks at the correctional system and offers arguments for and against the practice of the laws and policies that comprise corrections, from parole and probation to imprisonment, to the application of the death penalty.
Crime and Punishment Around the World by
Call Number: HV6025 .C7115 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Descriptions of crimes—and the justice systems that define and punish them—in more than 200 nations, principalities, and dependencies.
Handbook of Transnational Crime and Justice by
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2013
Perspectives on the laws, crimes, and criminal justice responses to transnational crime organized around four major themes: the problem of transnational crime; analysis of specific transnational crimes; approaches to its control; and regional geographical analyses.
Handbook of Crime Correlates
Publication Date: 2nd ed. Elsevier, 2019
The Handbook of Crime Correlates, Second Edition summarizes more than a century of worldwide research on traits and social conditions associated with criminality and antisocial behavior. Findings are provided in tabular form, enabling readers to determine at a glance the nature of each association. Within each table, results are listed by country, type of crime (or other forms of antisocial behavior), and whether each variable is positively, negatively, or insignificantly associated with offending behavior. Criminal behavior is broken down according to major categories, including violent crime, property crime, drug offenses, sex offenses, delinquency, and recidivism.
Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections
Subjects: African Studies
, Aging Studies
, Data & GIS
, Food Studies
, Health & Societies
, International Relations
, Philadelphia Studies
, Political Science
, Population Studies & Demography
, Public Policy & Administration
, Social Sciences
, Urban Studies