Complete corpus of medieval translations of the works of Aristotle, constituting the main tools for the study of science and philosophy in the Middle Ages.
A database of about 45,000 articles from 825 journals concerning patristic Christianity. Beyond Patrology, the database distinguishes fifteen patristic subspecialities, namely Archaeology, Iconography, Epigraphy, Christian Papyrology, Christian Codicology, History of Christianity, History of Theology, History of Christian Philosophy, History of the Councils, History of the Liturgy, History of Spirituality (asceticism...), History of Monasticism, History of Biblical Exegesis, Hagiography and Christian texts Philology. Presently searchable only in French.
Searchable database of about 29,300 articles concerning patristic Christianity. Beyond Patrology, the database distinguishes fifteen patristic subspecialities, namely Archaeology, Iconography, Epigraphy, Christian Papyrology, Christian Codicology, History of Christianity, History of Theology, History of Christian Philosophy, History of the Councils, History of the Liturgy, History of Spirituality (asceticism...), History of Monasticism, History of Biblical Exegesis, Hagiography and Christian texts Philology. Searchable in French.
The Library of Latin texts contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis can be consulted.
Primarily designed for finding Latin word forms within the works in this collection. Each search-query shows the results in the context of a sentence, but from here the user can consult the whole text of the work. Texts can also be accessed through an index of author and work references.
Collection of writings from the first 800 years of the Christian Church. Includes the Edinburgh English edition of The Ante-Nicene Fathers and the Selected library of the Nicene and post-Nicene fathers of the Christian church.
The definitive English-language translations of the early writings of the Christian church. Over 120 volumes at present, with two volumes issued a year.
The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 CE to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Graecae, published between 1857-1866. The Tables of Content feature more extensive accessiblity to the contents of each volume of PG than Migne's originals.
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Graecae, published between 1857-1866. To access the contents, click on the links on the Tables of Content at the bottom of the "title page." The Tables of Content feature more extensive accessiblity to the contents of each volume of PG than Migne's originals. To browse through each volume, click either next or prev. To view specific columns, enter the number of that column in the area labeled Go to column and click OK (most volumes of PG are enumerated as columns rather than pages). To return to the Table of Contents at any time, click Contents. To view a printable page, click the link entitled Printable Page.
Fully searchable scholarly translations from Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian and Armenian of texts published between 300 and 800 AD; from late antiquity to the early middle ages.
You will need to click on the "enter database" button to get to Vetus Latina. Pre-Vulgate Bible versions of the Latin Church Fathers. Because there are a limited number of extant manuscripts that haphazardly cover the biblical text, the basic sources are biblical citations or allusions that are found within the writings of the Latin Fathers or Greek patristic authors who were translated at an early date into Latin.
This database contains every citation, listed by book, chapter and verse of the Bible. The citations can be searched individually or as a whole, following the biblical structure.
This project provides critical editions of texts by Christian authors from Late Antiquity till the end of the Middle Ages to serve as reference-works for scholars. The Latin and Greek texts are supplemented by the ancillary handbooks, bibliographies, monographic studies and electronic databases. The texts m this series are included in The electronic resource Library of Latin Texts. For the print series visit this Franklin catalog record.
This multilingual collection features early Eastern Christian texts in Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Ethiopian, Armenian and Georgian. Each text is presented in a critical edition in the original language with a translation in a companion volume. The volumes of this set are located in Van Pelt Library and at Libra generally in the classification BR 60. Click on the link to go to the list of individual titles in the catalog.
This is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It consists of documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. It includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included.
Journals for the Study of the Early Church
Click here to go to a list of journals focusing on the early church and its texts.
Christ and the Apostles in the Heavenly Jerusalem, apse mosaic, early fifth century, Rome, Santa Pudenziana.
