Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home Care, Hospice & Long Term Care
Enter BI HOSPN for hospitals, to find a wide range of industry metrics and drivers. Includes limited data from the AHA survey on beds, expenses and admissions and AHA version of HCRIS (Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting System, managed by CMS)
Almanac of Hospital Financial and Operating Indicators.
Benchmarking resource with comparative data on key financial indicators. Available at the Lippincott Information Desk (CD-ROM or call number RA981.A2 A582).
American College of Healthcare Executives
Professional society of executives who lead hospitals, healthcare systems and other healthcare organizations.
American Hospital Association
National organization that represents hospitals and health care systems. AHA Survey (including the IT supplement) and financial database files are available via WRDS
American Hospital Directory
Includes summaries of clinical services, utilization and financial statistics.
Produced by the American Hospital Association. Current and historical data on utilization, personnel, revenue, expenses, managed care contracts, community health indicators, physician models. RA 981 A2 A6234 (Latest-Lippincott Information Desk; Others-3rd Floor Stacks).
Society for Healthcare Strategy & Market Development
Organization within AHA that focuses on marketing. See their report By the numbers: Benchmarking Study on Healthcare Marketing Communications to find data about marketing/communications and advertising/media budgets and the structure, responsibilities, and staffing levels of marketing/communications departments in healthcare organizations (Lippincott stacks, RA410.56 .B9)
HCRIS Hospital Form 2552-10 Data
Medicare-certified hospitals are required to submit an annual cost report through the Healthcare Cost Report Information System (HCRIS). The cost report contains provider information such as facility characteristics, utilization data, cost and charges by cost center (in total and for Medicare), Medicare settlement data, and financial statement data. Data are available as SAS data files.
Retail Clinics & Urgent Care
Physicians & Physicians' Offices
Association of American Medical Colleges Workforce Data and Reports
AAMC is the association that represents accredited US and Canadian medical schools. They publish biennial reports which include physician supply and retention by state, as well as reports focusing on medical specialties and diversity.
Professional association for administrators and leaders of medical group practices.
A federal program, required by the Affordable Care Act, that collects information about the payments drug and device companies make to physicians and teaching hospitals for things like travel, research, gifts, speaking fees, and meals. It also includes ownership interests that physicians or their immediate family members have in these companies.
Physician characteristics and distribution in the U.S.
Gathered from the American Medical Association (AMA) Physician Masterfile, provides physician trends, physician specialty, analysis of professional activity and physician supply. Available in print at the Biomedical Library.
State medical license requirements and statistics
Includes state-by-state licensing requirements, including examination and endorsement fees, licensure re-registration and CME requirements, examination pass/fail percentages and detailed information for various associations, boards and councils. Available in print at the Biomedical Library.