Guides: Health and Life Science Research: Funding

SPIN Plus through PennERA

SPIN Plus is a web-based system available through PennERA (Penn's Electronic Research Administration) portal. SPIN Plus includes three components:

SPIN Searchable funding opportunities database that includes national and international government and private (foundations, associations and corporations) funding sources.
GENIUS Global WWW network and database of investigator profiles of scientific and scholarly expertise.
SMARTS Investigator Funding Alert System which matches investigator profile information with SPIN. Matches occur on a daily basis, and opportunities are emailed to researchers.

To access SPIN Plus, go to PennERA and click on Logon to PennERA to authenticate using PennKey and password. Choose Find Funding from the top of page.

Other Funding Databases

Foundation Directory Online
Now called Candid. Search grants funded by foundations in detail, search foundations by area of interest, or research grantmaking organizations.

Grants to Individuals Online
Grant Advisor Plus
Information on grant, research, and fellowship opportunities for U.S. institutions of higher education and their faculty. Click on "Subscriber Pages" to search.
NOTE: only available through Penn IP addresses.
more...less...
The Database Search allows you to enter your own search criteria (such as funding agency, keywords, academic division, and more). Results are displayed in the same table format as the Deadline Memo Hyperlinks. The Article Search allows keyword searching through hundreds of abstracts and Federal Register articles.
Grants.gov
Single access point for information on over 1,000 grant programs and approximately $500 billion in annual awards.

NIH RePORTER
Searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. Users can search for scientific concepts, emerging trends and techniques, or identify specific projects and/or investigators, NIH funding expenditures, and the publications and patents that have acknowledged support from each project.

Funding Agency Open Access Policies

Use these resources to find more information about the open access policies of individual funding agencies.

NIH Public Access Policy
Guidance on journal policies, submission methods and citing PMCIDs.
SHERPA JULIET
Summaries of funding agencies' open-access and data-sharing policies.

Funding Guides from Offices at Penn

Other Resources

Further resources to locate information on potential grants and requests for proposals.

NIH Extramural Funding Opportunities and Notices
Can search or set up alerts (email, RSS or Twitter).
Philanthropy News Digest RFP Bulletins
MSU: Grants in Medicine
Collection of links to sources for grants in Medicine compiled by Michigan State University.

Information About Grant Writing

Grant Writing Services from Perelman School of Medicine
Candid Introduction to Proposal Writing self-paced course Free registration required
Developing and Writing Grant Proposals (General Services Administration, Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance)
Archived via federal web harvest, 2006.
Grants Learning Center (Grants.gov)
Blog posts, videos, FAQs, and community Q&As on federal grant seeking.
Data Management Plans (Penn Libraries guide)
Guidance for using the Penn Libraries-licensed DMPTool to facilitate compliance with the data management component of grants from NIH and other agencies.

Health and Life Science Research: Funding