Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help Selecting Journals
Beall's List of Predatory Open Access Publishers (Archived Copy)
Note: Beall's List is no longer online. This is an archived version of the site as of January 2017 and will not be updated. This resource lists potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open-access publishers according to somewhat controversial criteria.
SCImago journal rankings
Provides SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) indicator and other measures
Scopus Journal Analyzer
Compare SJR, IPP, SNIP for up to 10 journals
Think, Check. Submit
A cross-industry initiative to provide authors with criteria for evaluating journals, from BioMed Central, the Association of Learned & Professional Society Publishers, Directory of Open Access Journals, individual publishers and others.
Directory of Nursing Journals
The International Academy of Nursing Editors (INANE) provides this vetted, opt-in listing of nursing journals.
Includes impact information, author guidelines, and other useful information to help with journal selection.
University Grants Commission (India) Approved Journal List
The UGC is the Indian national higher education standards and credentialing agency. Since late 2016, only articles published in journals listed here are eligible for consideration in hiring and tenure considerations.
The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors provides an opt-in listing of journals which follow its standards.
Alternative Publishing Formats & Approaches
Allows researchers to publish videos, datasets and other formats often considered "supplemental materials". Specifically promoted as a place to publish null results.
International repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences. Governed by a consortium of journals
that promote data archiving.
Create a companion website to a paper allowing people to run computer codes associated with the paper using their own data and parameter values.
Researchers can upload research articles and synchronize them with video commentary. Videos of slide or poster presentations can also be uploaded.
Nanopublishing and Microattribution
Links to a 2012 article in Human Mutation
These terms refer to essentially the same thing - "the smallest unit of publishable information: an assertion about anything that can be uniquely identified and attributed to its author".
For more info see NanoPub.org
Writing and Editing Help
The American Medical Association's style guide provides information on different publications types, such as review articles and guidelines, as well as detailed guidance for manuscript preparation and formatting references.
Check for Plagiarism
Plagiarism-checking software for instructors, researchers, graduate students, and undergraduates engaged in high-level research.
Publisher Copyright & Open Access Information
PeerJ and PeerJ Computer Science
Penn Libraries have an institutional plan with the PeerJ journals. The libraries support a lifetime membership at the Basic level (basic level provides one article per year) for Penn faculty who have been accepted for publication with PeerJ.
Penn Libraries’ membership offers 15% discount on article processing fees to Penn authors.
PubMed Central, Automatic Submission
Journals which automatically submit manuscripts to PMC on an author's behalf.
Search for publisher copyright and self-archiving policies.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
University of Pennsylvania ScholarlyCommons