Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

REES 026: Behind the Iron Curtain: Art & Culture in Eastern Europe: Home

Full guide to Russian and East European Studies

Making Full Use of the Libraries even though you are away from campus

 
Use PENNTEXT (a text link or an icon) to connect from database citation to fulltext or a request for digital delivery (chapters and journal articles)

Selected books available from the Libraries

Keywords - subject terms

As you read and have discussions, take note of the vocabulary your are seeing and hearing. For instance, here are some terms that come from the reading "Vanguard of the Future: Mobility, Nationalism and the Postsocialist Condition"

Travel
Mobility
Immobility
Exile
Emigre
Travellers
Displacement
Refugees
Xenophobia
"The other"
Expulsion
Estrangement
Uprootedness
Vacations
Leisure
Production
National identities
historical narrative
 

 

Borders
Barriers
Dogma
Orthodoxy
Artists
Central Europe
Eastern Europe
Iron Curtain
Austro-Hungarian
Bloc
Western Europe
Post-Socialism
Soviet/postSoviet
Communism
Liberal democracy
Capitalism
Asylum
colonial/postcolonial
natonalism
populism

 

Guide URL

Follow this link to go to the guide directly: https://guides.library.upenn.edu/iron_curtain

Arch of Neturality in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan by John Pavelka

Photograph by John Pavelka "Arch of Neutrality" in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan used under a CC 2.0 license

Finding books, journal articles, and other material

Franklin--the Libraries' catalog for books, music, film, newspapers, journals, primary source material and more.

  • Sample Search (use "keyword expert" from the dropdown):
    • ("eastern europe" OR "post soviet" OR "post communist") AND (travel OR migration) AND (culture OR art OR design)
    • "eastern europe" AND  ("post soviet" OR "post communist") AND (life OR geography OR people*)

ABSEES--American Bibliography of Slavic & East European Studies

East View Russia—Social Sciences--A selection of articles from 30 scholarly periodicals “of Russian”, translated into English. Dates: 2016-2020 (and continuing)>

  • Sample searches:
    • youth AND expression
    • generation* AND (art OR creat* OR perspective)

JSTOR--full text to a wide range of journals across the disciplines. Some journals include the current 2020 issues, many have a slow rolling cut off date of 3-5 years back.

Project Muse--full text of contemporary journals in the social sciences and humanities

Articles+ --- the Libraries multidisciplinary database of journals, book chapters, newspapers and magazines. Includes access to full text and citations (request digital delivery)

Sample search: "post soviet"  architectural style

ARTSTOR--Searchable database of more than 500,000 digital images and associated catalog data. Try searching "eastern europe" and set dates for 1991 (or later) - 2020 in advanced search.

GoogleScholar--This link will take you through the proxy. You can also set Google Scholar up to recognize you as a Penn Student all of the time, regardless of how you get there. Look for the three vertical lines in upper right hand corner. Click on them. Click on "settings", then click on  "library links," Next find "University of Pennsylvania" in the drop down and hit return. You should be set!

 

boolean diagram using colored circles to show overlap. synonyms for eastern europe, travel, culture

Boolean diagram for the search: ("eastern europe" OR "post soviet" OR "post communist") AND (travel or migration [other synonyms?]) AND (culture OR art* Or design)

(. ) create a set in the same way a colored circle does in the diagram.

" " enclose a phrase and keep the terms adjacent

* serves to truncate a word. art can be art arts artist artisan artful artless ... 

Subject Librarian Russian and East European Studies

Rebecca Stuhr's picture
Rebecca Stuhr
Contact:
Van Pelt Library 218
215-898-5999

Books from the catalog