Directory of Judaica online resources: Cultures

• Community-Level and National Jewish Historical Societies in the United States and Abroad (American Jewish Historical Society)
• Ellisisland.org - American Family Immigration History Center
• Familia Judia.Com - serving the entire Spanish speaking Jewish community in the Americas and throughout the world
• Jewish Communities of the World (Virtual Jerusalem)
• Jewish MultiCultural Project
• JewishGen: The Home of Jewish Genealogy (Virtual Jerusalem)
• Kulanu - "dedicated to finding and assisting lost and dispersed remnants of the Jewish people"
• National Foundation for Jewish Culture
• National Sound Archives, Jewish National and University Library - Digital fragments of the Passover song Echad mi yodea
• National Sound Archives, Jewish National and University Library - Digital samples of High Holiday prayers.
• Rav-SIG Rabbinic Genealogy Special Interest Group - An indexed bibliography of more than 300 resources for rabbinic genealogical research
• ShtetLinks (JewishGen)

The "Other" in "Afghan" Identity: Medieval Jewish community of Afghanistan

Hebrew University Expedition of Jewish Cemetery in Armenia

• Shtetl, Yiddish Language and Culture Home Page
• "Virtual Ashkenaz"
• YIVO Institute for Jewish Research, specializing in Eastern European Jewish and Yiddish culture

• Dvorets (JewishGen ShtetLinks)
• Minsk Gubernia (JewishGen ShtetLinks)
• Serniki Pervyye (JewishGen)

The Bnei Menashe of Myanmar (Burma)

• Canadian Jewish Congress
• Canadian Jewish Virtual Museum and Archives
• CALGARY - Calgary Jewish Community
• MONTREAL - Montreal's Federation CJA (English and French)
• NEW BRUNSWICK, NEWFOUNDLAND, NOVA SCOTIA, PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND - Atlantic Jewish Council Communities
• OTTAWA - Soloway Jewish Community Centre
• SASKATCHEWAN - Life in Saskatchewan from a Jewish View, by Rebecca Landau
• TORONTO - Welcome to Jewish Toronto (UJA Federation Greater Toronto)
• VANCOUVER - Jewish Federation of Greater Vancouver
• VICTORIA - Jewish Community Center of Victoria
• WINNIPEG - Welcome to Jewish Winnipeg (Jewish Federation of Winnipeg)

• Bibliography of Books and Articles in Latin American Jewish Studies 1991-96 (Judith Laikin Elkin, editor and compiler - University of Michigan)
• Bibliography of Books and Articles in Latin American Jewish Studies 1997-98 (Judith Laikin Elkin, editor and compiler - University of Michigan)
• Internet Resources for Jewish Latin America and the Caribbean - general and by country (Marian Goslinga - Florida International University Library)
• Seminario Rabinico Latinoamericano Marshall T. Meyer, Buenos Aires, Argentina (Spanish and English)

• The Chinese Jews, by Oliver Bainbridge, National Geographic, October 1907
• Jewish Community Centre of Hong Kong
• The Jewish Community of China
• Jews in China, by Pan Guang, dean of the Shanghai Center of Jewish Studies - Notes on the history of Jewish communities in 20th century China, particularly Shanghai
• The Jews of China, Wendy Abraham
• The Jews of Kaifeng, Michael Pollak (includes a brief bibliography)
• Moishe Zhang, Leader of the Kaifeng Jewish Community, Daniel Freeman

• Comunidad Hebrea Hatikva, Santiago de Cuba (English and Spanish)
• The Jews of Cuba (English and Spanish)

BIBLIOGRAPHIE zur Geschichte der Juden in den bvhmischen Lvndern, der Tschechoslowakei bzw. Tschechiens im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert Zusammengestellt von Robert Luft (Collegium Carolinum : Forschungsstelle f|r die bvhmischen Ldnder )

Denmark Special Interest Group (SIG) (JewishGen)

Alliance Israelite Universelle

• Jewish Sacred Buildings - CAD virtual reconstructions of destroyed Frankfurt synagogues (Technische Universitdt Darmstadt)
• http://www.cad.architektur.tu-darmstadt.de/synagogen/inter/menu.htmlSynagogen in Deutschland - Eine Virtuelle Rekonstruktion - CAD virtual reconstructions of destroyed German synagogues (Technische Universitdt Darmstadt)

• Congregation Kehila Kedosha Janina - A Romaniote Synagogue in New York's Lower East Side
• The Jews of Greece
• Kol haKehila: The Newsletter of the Greek Jewish Monuments (Yvelia)
• Yvelia - Site for Greek Jewry

The Jews of India (JSOURCE)

Babylonian Jewry Heritage Center

• Irishcom - Official Web Pages of the Irish Jewish Community
• Jewish Cemetaries in Ireland (Jewishgen.org)
• Jewish City Guides : Dublin Ireland
• Jews in Twentieth-Century Ireland, (by Dermot Keogh - synopsis, Cork University Press)

• Breve storia della comunità di Bologna (in Italian)
• Collegio Rabbinico Italiano (Rome, in Italian)
• Ebrei a Lugo - La comunità ebraica di Lugo di Romagna (Liceo Scientifico "G.Ricci Curbastro" -Lugo - Classe IV AB- 2001, in Italian)
• Hebrew Printing in Livorno (Marvin J. Heller, Los Muestros)
• Italy (Jewish Communities of the World)
• The Jews in Sicily (in English)
• The Jewish Community of Casale Monferrato (Piedmont) (in Italian)
• The Jewish Community of Florence (Italian, English, French, Spanish)
• The Jewish Community of Livorno (Italian)
• The Jewish Community of Trentino-Alto Adige (Italian and English)
• Jewish Genealogy in Italy
• Leghorn: Center of Immigration of the Sefardic Jews to America, 17th century (Mordechai Arbell)
• Listing of Jewish Communities in Italy, addresses, links including directory of Kosher establishments (in Italian)
• Livornina - The "Livornina" - de' Medici Charter of Toleration for Livorno, Florence, 1593 (SCETI)
• The Medici Archive Project: Jewish History, Religion, and Culture
• "Menorah", site for modern Jewish life in Italy (in Italian)
• Morashà - "The Online Door to Jewish Italy" (in Italian)
• Music of Salomone Rossi (Zamir Chorale of Boston)
• Le pagine oro/The Golden Pages of Morashà - Guide to Jewish Italy (Italian and English)
• Pitigliano: The Little Jerusalem (in English)

• Japanese-Jewish Resources
• The Jewish Community of Japan Website
• The Jewish Communities of Japan
• The Jews of Kobe (Tamar Engel)

Karaites.org - Karaite Jews of America

• Khazar Studies : A Resource for Turkic and Jewish History in Russia and Ukraine

• Libyan Jewry (University of California, Berkeley)

• Images of Polish Synagogues (David M. Dickerson)
• Synagogues of Lodz - in postcards
• Virtual Jewish Lodz (Jacek Walicki)

• ROM-SIG NEWS (JewishGen)

• Jewish.ru - online site serving Russia's Jewish Communities (in Russian - Federation of Jewish Communities of Russia)
• Petersburg Judaica - Center for Organization of the Jewish museum in St. Petersburg (Russian and English)

• Denmark Special Interest Group (SIG) (JewishGen - Includes extensive resourses for all of Scandinavia and Iceland)

• Edinburgh Jewish Community
• Giffnock & Newlands Hebrew Congregation Online (Glasgow)
• Scottish Council of Jewish Communities

• American Sephardic Federation
• BSZnet - the virtual center of the Sephardic Community
• Les Echos de l'Institut (European Sephardic Institute)
• Foundation for the Advancement of Sephardic Studies and Culture
• Judeo-Maghrebi Literature Web page
• Sefarad.org - European Sephardic Institute
• Los Muestros - La boz de loz Sefardim/The Sephardic Voice (French, English, and Ladino)
• Ivri-NASAWI - New Association of Sephardi/Mizrahi Artists & Writers International
• Sephardi/Mizrahi Studies Caucus - for the promotion and integration of Sephardi and Mizrahi Studies into general Jewish Studies, both in teaching and in scholarship (Rachel Simon, Princeton University)
• Sephardic and Mizrahi music and musicology, with RealAudio samples (Judith Cohen)
• Sephardic House - Recommended new site for Sephardic regional history and languages

• Bibliography of South African Jewry, Veronica Belling (Kaplan Centre for Jewish Studies and Research)
• Jewish City Guides - South African Cities
• Jewish South African Special Interest Group (JewishGen)
• University of Capetown, Jewish Studies Library

• Infofile on Genealogical and Historical Research on Jewish Families from Izmir (formerly Smyrna), Turkey, Mrs. Laurence Abensur-Hazan (JewishGen)

www.harissa.com - The Web of Tunisian Jews

• Sudilkov Online Landmanshaft - includes other links to Ukrainian and Russian Jewry

• American Jewish Historical Society
• American Sephardic Federation
• Bloom Southwest Jewish Archives (University of Arizona)
• Center for American History, University of Texas, Austin - includes historical and archival resources on Texan Jewry
• Hebrewbooks.org - The Society for the Preservation Of Hebrew Books - Out of print Hebrew works by early 20th Century American Rabbis, in PDF format.
• Indiana Historical Society - Library - Jewish Welfare Federation of Indianapolis Records, 1903-
• Immigrant History Research Center
• Jewish Genealogical Society of Greater Philadelphia
• Jewish Historical Society of MetroWest (Newark, Essex County, and all of Northern New Jersey
• Jewish War Veterans of the United States
• The Jews of Wyoming - Fringe of the Diaspora, by Penny Diane Wolin
• Judaica Americana - Ephemeral pamphlets published in the United States between 1725 and 1900
  from the Library of the Jewish Theological Seminary
• Philadelphia Jewish Archives Center
• Resources for Jewish Genealogy in Boston
• Rocky Mountain Jewish Historical Society
• The Society Hill Synagogue of Philadelphia
• Temple Beth El, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan - The Rabbi Leo M. Franklin Archives - Archives of Michigan's first Jewish Congregation
• The Texas Jewish Historical Society
• Virtual Restoration of Small Town Synagogues in Texas
• The Workmen's Circle/Arbeter Ring

• Jewish Language Research Website
• Jewish-Languages Mailing List (ListServ)
• Ethnologue Listing of Jewish Languages
• Examples of Jewish Languages in Print, National Library of Canada
• Israeli Association for the Study of Language and Society
• Jewish Interlinguistics: A Basic Bibliography (Tsuguya Sasaki)
• Jewish Languages (William Brinner)
• Okeanos - Website for Biblical, Classical, and Ancient Near Eastern Studies Philological Resources (Scott B. Noegel, University of Washington)
• World of Hebrew & Jewish Languages (Tsuguya Sasaki)

• Bibliography of Works Pertaining to the Study of Targum (Alex Jassen and Joe Angel Okeanos)
• Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon (Hebrew Union College)
• International Organization for Targumic Study
• Targum and Peshitta Bibliography

• Bibliography on Word Play in the Hebrew Bible and Other Ancient Near Eastern Literature (Scott B. Noegel, University of Washington)
• Corpus of Spoken Israeli Hebrew (CoSIH)
• SAHD Project - Semantics of Ancient Hebrew Database (University of Bonn, University of Cambridge, University of Edinburgh, University of Florence, University of Leiden, University of Leuven, University of Oxford, University of Paris, and University of Rome)

• Jewish Malayalam - Description by Scaria Zacharia (Jewish Language Research Website)
• Jewish Songs in Malayalam - K. Pradeep (Article from The Hindu, May 26, 2003)

• Libyan Jewry - Language and Literature (University of California, Berkeley
• The Popular Arabic Literature of the Jews - texts in English translation (Alan D. Corri)
• Varieties and Statistics (Ethnologue)

• Statistics - UNESCO Redbook on Endangered Languages (Tapani Salminen)

• Statistics - UNESCO Redbook on Endangered Languages (Tapani Salminen)

• Statistics - UNESCO Redbook on Endangered Languages(Tapani Salminen)

• Description of Medieval Koini (Seth Jerchower)
• Culinary Glosses in a XII Century Manuscript of the Arukh (British Library, Add. 26. 881), Luisa Ferreti Cuomo, Hebrew University (abstract, in Italian)
• La Ienti de Sion: Linguistic and Cultural Legacy of an Early Thirteenth-Century Judeo-Italian Kinah (Joseph Abraham Levi, University of Iowa; appeared in: Italica 1, Spring (1998): 1-21)
• Giudaico Romanesco (Renie Mof, in Italian)
• Statistics - UNESCO Redbook on Endangered Languages (Tapani Salminen)

• Statistics - Ethnologue

• Statistics - UNESCO Redbook on Endangered Languages (Tapani Salminen)

• Folk Literature of the Sephardic Jews: a Multi-tiered Extensible Digital Archive, University of California, Davis
• The "Archaism" of Judeo-Spanish/Judeo-Spanish Phonetics (Folk Literature of the Sephardic Jews, University of California, Davis)
• Index of Articles on Ladino (Judeo-Spanish) Language (Foundation for the Advancement of Sephardic Studies and Culture)
• Judeo-Spanish (article, in English)
• Judeo-Spanish: Birth, Death, and Re-Birth (article, in English)
• The Judeo-Spanish Press, by Aviva Ben-Ur (Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia, ) Routledge, 1997, and American Jewish Historical Society, 1998)
• Statistics - UNESCO Redbook on Endangered Languages (Tapani Salminen)

• Abteilung f|r Jiddische Kultur, Sprache und Literatur, Heinrich-Heine-Universitdt D|sseldorf (in German)
• Alef-beys (Yiddish Alphabet) & YIVO Transliteration Chart (YIVO)
• Der Bavebter Yid - Yiddish literary journal featuring poetry and fiction (Unicode | PDF | Romanized formats)
• Dora Teitelboim Center for Yiddish Culture
  Online Yiddish language classes and other cultural resources
• Forward (Yiddish Edition)
• International Institute of Social History: The Yiddish Collection (Amsterdam)
• Joe Fishstein Collection of Yiddish Poetry (McLennan Library, McGill University)
• Mame-Loshn, Harvard Magazine
• Mendele - Forum for Yiddish Literature and Yiddish Language
• National Yiddish Book Center
• The New Yiddish Times - Dora Teitelboim Center for Yiddish Culture's Newsletter
• Oxford Institute for Yiddish Studies
• Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Music Archive, SCETI, University of Pennsylvania Library
• Shtetl, Yiddish Language and Culture Home Page
• Spoken Yiddish Language Project - Columbia University
• Steven Spielberg Digital Yiddish Library - National Yiddish Book Center
• University of Maryland Libraries - S. L. and Eileen Shneiderman Collection of Yiddish Books
• University of Pennsylvania, Yiddish Language and Literature
• What is Yiddish? A Brief Explanation (YIVO)
• The Workmen's Circle/Arbeter Ring
• Yiddish Language and Literature at Penn
• Yiddish Language Playscripts in the Library of Congress
• Yiddish Radio Project - history of Yiddish radio
• The Yiddish Voice Links Page - from The Yiddish Voice, a radio program in Boston, MA
• Yiddish: A Basic Bibliography (Tsuguya Sasaki)
• Yiddish: Geographic Distribution (Tsuguya Sasaki)
• Yiddish: Historical Division (Tsuguya Sasaki)
• YidishMusic WebRadio Live and downloads from Brazil - Spreading the Jewish Culture through its music (Portuguese/English)
• Der Yiddisher Tam-Tam
• YIVO Institute for Jewish Research
• YIVO Institute for Jewish Research Yiddish Pages (note: requires Adobe Acrobat Reader)
• Yugntruf - Youth for Yiddish