Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Landscape Architecture Research

Union Catalogs

WorldCat: Comprehensive online catalog of library holdings. Lists books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, and other materials located in public, academic, corporate, school and specialized libraries all over the world. Check Worldcat for holdings of material that are not available at Penn. Available items may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

OAIster: A subcatalog within Worldcat, OAIster is union catalog of digital resources from open archive collections representing multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,100 contributors worldwide. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click.

Campus Resources

PennDesign's Landscape Architecture page provides a resource list as well as departmental information.

PennDesign's Architectural Archives are located in the Kroiz Gallery, within the Fisher Fine Arts Library. The archives have extensive holdings with the aim of preserving the works of more than 400 designers from the 18th century to the present.

The Penn University Archives is its own distinct unit, founded in 1945, as the University's official permanent repository for historically significant documents and other materials that reflect the University's origins, as well as the development and the activities and achievements of its officers, staff, faculty, students, alumni, and benefactors.

Requesting Items

Need a book that has LIBRA as the location? That's the library storage facility. You can read this guide about requesting items from LIBRA.

Need a book that's not in Penn Libraries? You can use WorldCat or database information to request from other schools, through BorrowDirect, EZBorrow, or Inter-Library Loan (ILL).

Need a book that's at Penn but designated as rare? Request to view it through your Research Account for Special Collections.

If you would like to suggest a title be added to the Penn Libraries collection, fill out the online Purchase Request form.