Guides: PAH Advanced Practice Providers: Home

Here for you!

I created this guide for members of this clinical community to connect you with resources available via PennLibraries. We are very fortunate to be a part of such an incredible academic research institution and I want to make sure Pennsylvania Hospital colleagues take advantage!

Please be in touch with me if you have requests, suggestions, or comments about the content on this guide.

Happy exploring!

Michelle Bass

Clinical Information Librarian

Pennsylvania Hospital

Databases

CINAHL/ Nursing
Authoritative coverage of nursing and allied health literature.
PubMed
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
Web of Science
Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Allows for cited reference searching. Includes Science Citation Index, the Social Science Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (evidence-based medicine)
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: 1) Complete reviews - Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review Groups 2) Protocols - Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion). Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.
COCH is produced by the Cochrane Collaboration - an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews of the effects of health care. In pursuing its aims, the Cochrane Collaboration is guided by six principles: collaboration, building on people's existing enthusiasm and interests, minimizing duplication of effort, avoidance of bias, keeping up to date, and ensuring access.
Reflecting the current practice in medicine to base clinical decisions on accumulated evidence from the primary medical literature, Ovid has created a collection of resources called Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews which is designed for use by clinicians, researchers and students. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is one of the databases in Ovid's evidence-based medicine collection, which also includes the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) and Best Evidence (which consists of ACP Journal Club from the American College of Physicians-American Society for Internal Medicine [ACP-ASIM] and Evidence Based Medicine from the BMJ Publishing Group).
In Medline a limit to Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews will restrict your retrieval to those articles or studies that have been included by the Cochrane Collaboration when creating a Topic Review or articles that have been reviewed in the ACP Journal Club or BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine publications or in the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE). By their inclusion in these publications, these studies have met strict Evidence-Based Medicine criteria. Use this limit to narrow a large search to only those articles or studies which are considered "Evidence-Based" by experts and for which an article or topic review exists.

Global Index Medicus
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.